We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not trustworthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel did not honor my credit card confirmed booking of a suite. Instead, they put us in a "regular" room that happens to be in a nearby motel. It is quite far from the plaza and has no shuttle to the center of town. I am sure some of the rooms are nicer than what we were put in but since they don't honor confirmed reservations, do you really want to chance it?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinguHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I would like to personally apologize for the unfortunate incident that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into the issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel. Please bare with us, as we are going through a transition, and we are disappointed that your reservation was not found. We would like you to give us another chance and we are confident in saying that this unfortunate event will not happen again.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Whoa.
We came up for a nice Christmas break, and boy were we in for a surprise. Less than a week before the hotel had been SOLD, to the neighboring CHAIN no less.
All the old front desk help was gone. NO more honoring the returning guest w/ the customary discount ("we dont do that during the holidays sir" intoned the freshly minted front desk clerk).
Many of the old housekeepers quit on the spot, so we were given $10 off per night if we declined housekeeping asstance. When we cked out the discount was conspicuously absent, and frostily reinstated.
Apparently the new corporate culture is to hire younger more inexperienced staff. The vibe has definitely changed. We''ll see for how long.
I can see the explanations now "we were just going through a transition, bear w/ us".

I would recommend that the good will generated over the DECADES be EARNED by the new folks, This inauspicious beginning needs to be rectified with experienced touch, and feel, and a sense of history that was conspicuously absent, My vote is that the new crew work HARD for whatever favor they engender. Please be candid w/ how the place stands NOW.

Room Tip: In the winter you want to ck for how drafty your room is. If the heater is on all the time you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomoBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear MomoBobo,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the issue of your concern. Yes we are going through a great transition that has been a bit uncomfortable at certain points for our guests, but we are doing every thing we can to it do as quickly and easily as possible. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed. If you come back to our hotel (we certainly hope you do) I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best!

Kindest Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The INN as a whole has loads of character. Feels like you're going back in time. The cantina and dining area have loads of character, as well. The breakfast was great! Definitely not continental breakfast like at chain hotels. The room had a smell to it and lacked enough warm water for shower. The bathroom was also cold. The carpet was also dingy. The nicest thing about the room were the exposed beams. We stayed in a room without fireplace.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear JT7279,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent stay. It is only through feedback that we are able to maintain and improve (where necessary) the service that we provide our guests. I was disappointed to read of your stay experience. This level of service is certainly unacceptable and has been addressed with the concerned party. Please accept my apologies. I hope you consider staying with when you return.

Thank you,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Sagebrush is a beautiful inn, with a traditional New Mexico farmhouse feel. It's on the edge of town, which is a bit disappointing - too far to walk. But that makes it a more rural, even though it is next door to a chain hotel. Our bedroom, like most, had a traditional fireplace but although we were supplied with wood and a firelighter, we couldn't light it. It got very cold in the night, but the fan heater was too noisy to run. Cooked breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Margaret F,

I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. That certainly was not our intention. We really appreciate your feedback, and hope you do give us a chance to make it right! We have been working on what you have addressed and hope you stay with us again on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The location is very good. The rooms are appointed south western style. The breakfast was nice and complimentary. We got a room on the second floor. Visited during winters and the bathroom got really cold.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Travelwise333,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your helpful feedback! We will use this information to better our hotel and to make our guests feel comfortable. We do hope to see you when you come back to Taos, New Mexico!

Our Kindest Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We visited the Adobe Bar at the Taos Inn before heading to the Sagebrush Inn Cantina. Pretty much night and day, The Adobe Bar was locals and tourists with a one man band as their live entertainment and barely any room to dance. The Sagebrush Inn Cantina had a 3 person band called "Time Machine" and it was obviously a local's bar which included a dance floor.

Let's just say a good time was had by all :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank WorkingAndPlaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear WorkingAndPlaying,

Thank you so much for your feedback it is greatly appreciated. I am happy to hear that you had a great time. Here at the Sagebrush Inn & Suites we make it our goal to exceed our guest expectations in every way possible. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Sagebrush Inn for two nights from November 9-11, 2013. It could not have been better. I had made the reservation on Hotwire and got a great price so I was a little skeptical. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and asked if this was our first stay. We said yes and were upgraded to a suite.
The room was huge- 2 sinks, large bath, kiva fireplace and a supply of wood. We enjoyed a fire each night. The room was very clean and we slept well.
The cooked to order breakfast was a nice bonus. Our waitresses each morning were very pleasant and the breakfast was served as order, hot and fresh.
Great stay! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a kiva!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mda49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Sagebrush. We have gone through an ownership change in December of 2013 and look forward to having all of our guests as satisfied as you. We are looking to some greast changes in 2014 but will never change the things that make Sagebrush unique and charming. I hope we can see you again next year.

Sincerely,
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#4 of 15 in Taos
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.0 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £77 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing