We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“news years in taos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“news years in taos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Place was older but had some character. Rooms were ok but the breakfast was unhealthy and small. Time Machine band was excellent and no cover charge. The western swing dancing was fabulous on the dance floor and the fireplace was lovely. Nice place but way overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: stay closer to main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear robin639,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I'm sorry you felt that our hot complimentary breakfast was small and unhealthy but we do offer other items on our guest menu that you may find healthier (ex. hot/cold cereal, granola,fruit, and assorted juices). I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself in our cantina. I am also concerned that you were not happy with the price you paid. During different seasons in Taos our hotel has different pricing points. Depending on the time of year or our ski season we do offer many different rates and/or discounts. Please call our reservations line for more information.

Our regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    320
    163
    101
    60
See reviews for
273
366
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel did not honor my credit card confirmed booking of a suite. Instead, they put us in a "regular" room that happens to be in a nearby motel. It is quite far from the plaza and has no shuttle to the center of town. I am sure some of the rooms are nicer than what we were put in but since they don't honor confirmed reservations, do you really want to chance it?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinguHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the unfortunate incident that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into the issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel. Please bare with us, as we are going through a transition, and we are disappointed that your reservation was not found. We would like you to give us another chance and we are confident in saying that this unfortunate event will not happen again.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Whoa.
We came up for a nice Christmas break, and boy were we in for a surprise. Less than a week before the hotel had been SOLD, to the neighboring CHAIN no less.
All the old front desk help was gone. NO more honoring the returning guest w/ the customary discount ("we dont do that during the holidays sir" intoned the freshly minted front desk clerk).
Many of the old housekeepers quit on the spot, so we were given $10 off per night if we declined housekeeping asstance. When we cked out the discount was conspicuously absent, and frostily reinstated.
Apparently the new corporate culture is to hire younger more inexperienced staff. The vibe has definitely changed. We''ll see for how long.
I can see the explanations now "we were just going through a transition, bear w/ us".

I would recommend that the good will generated over the DECADES be EARNED by the new folks, This inauspicious beginning needs to be rectified with experienced touch, and feel, and a sense of history that was conspicuously absent, My vote is that the new crew work HARD for whatever favor they engender. Please be candid w/ how the place stands NOW.

Room Tip: In the winter you want to ck for how drafty your room is. If the heater is on all the time you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomoBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear MomoBobo,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the issue of your concern. Yes we are going through a great transition that has been a bit uncomfortable at certain points for our guests, but we are doing every thing we can to it do as quickly and easily as possible. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed. If you come back to our hotel (we certainly hope you do) I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best!

Kindest Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The INN as a whole has loads of character. Feels like you're going back in time. The cantina and dining area have loads of character, as well. The breakfast was great! Definitely not continental breakfast like at chain hotels. The room had a smell to it and lacked enough warm water for shower. The bathroom was also cold. The carpet was also dingy. The nicest thing about the room were the exposed beams. We stayed in a room without fireplace.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear JT7279,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your recent stay. It is only through feedback that we are able to maintain and improve (where necessary) the service that we provide our guests. I was disappointed to read of your stay experience. This level of service is certainly unacceptable and has been addressed with the concerned party. Please accept my apologies. I hope you consider staying with when you return.

Thank you,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Sagebrush is a beautiful inn, with a traditional New Mexico farmhouse feel. It's on the edge of town, which is a bit disappointing - too far to walk. But that makes it a more rural, even though it is next door to a chain hotel. Our bedroom, like most, had a traditional fireplace but although we were supplied with wood and a firelighter, we couldn't light it. It got very cold in the night, but the fan heater was too noisy to run. Cooked breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Margaret F,

I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. That certainly was not our intention. We really appreciate your feedback, and hope you do give us a chance to make it right! We have been working on what you have addressed and hope you stay with us again on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
261 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The location is very good. The rooms are appointed south western style. The breakfast was nice and complimentary. We got a room on the second floor. Visited during winters and the bathroom got really cold.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Travelwise333,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your helpful feedback! We will use this information to better our hotel and to make our guests feel comfortable. We do hope to see you when you come back to Taos, New Mexico!

Our Kindest Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We visited the Adobe Bar at the Taos Inn before heading to the Sagebrush Inn Cantina. Pretty much night and day, The Adobe Bar was locals and tourists with a one man band as their live entertainment and barely any room to dance. The Sagebrush Inn Cantina had a 3 person band called "Time Machine" and it was obviously a local's bar which included a dance floor.

Let's just say a good time was had by all :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingAndPlaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amjad A, Guest Relations Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear WorkingAndPlaying,

Thank you so much for your feedback it is greatly appreciated. I am happy to hear that you had a great time. Here at the Sagebrush Inn & Suites we make it our goal to exceed our guest expectations in every way possible. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing