We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Taos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quintessential Taos”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this gem of a hotel over the years. Although the room was a little dated, it was clean, quite large, very comfortable and gave you that Taos feeling that can only be understood if you've ever been to Taos. I spoke with one of the housekeepers and was informed that new management will be updating the property but keeping the authentic charm. We have been staying here over 10 years and will continue to do so. The steak house has great prime rib and the free breakfast is just one more added touch!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQSFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear SusieQSFE,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Taos, and the Sagebrush Inn. Being new to the area I understand the "Taos Feel" that you are referring to. The staff at the Sagebrush is looking forward to 2014 and the changes that will make the property a more updated Sagebrush Inn but still keeping the charm.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and safe travels in 2014
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    326
    168
    103
    61
See reviews for
275
376
46
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corry, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Inn was excellent, nice rooms, the staff was helpful and very nice. The complimentary breakfast was get. The Mexican Buffet Monday night was great. Thanks to the cook for preparing a special meal for one of my group who has a dietary issue. The bar tenders were great. The only thing, I would hope that the town could do a better job in providing shuttles to the mountain and into town for the evening. All in all, thing were great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Mike,

It was a pleasure hosting your group from Pennsylvania this year. The snow came just in time to be sure you could get alot of skiing in. I will certainly be sure Laurie and Chef Johnny are aware of your great comments. We look forward to you returning to Taos again and will work with the local visitors center to see if we can get more shuttles available during the busy weeks.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed in one of the hotel suites for almost a week last month. The staff was both lovely, and very helpful. The rooms were extremely spacious, clean and comfortable; and the bed linens were buttery soft! We especially enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts which were a great way to start each day!!
We adored the décor in the historic main lobby as well as the breakfast area.
I would definitely stay here again... and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candee214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Candee,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Sagebrush for other travelers. Our goal is to make all guests experiences as memorable as yours. We hope you will visit the Taos area again as you can see alot and still miss alot there is so much to see and do.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have been staying at the Sagebrush Inn when in Taos for more than 20 years, and have never been disappointed.
The main sitting room at the entrance seems to be an occasional site for concerts (C&W of course), and other events. You never walk in the front door to the same thing. You have to temper your expectations because this place is really a throw back to an earlier time. The Sagebrush is really a motel in the 50's sense of the word, long rows of attached rooms with a covered walkway connecting the rooms to the restaurant and lobby. This place still represents Taos as it was before it became Californicated. Go to Taos in the late spring, summer or fall to enjoy the feel. Taos during Ski season is a different place and the Sagebrush is a long way from the slopes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Doug,
Thank you for your review, The Sagebrush is quite unique in the area. We have had an ownership change at the end of 2013 and are looking to do some updating this year. We are keeping the Taos personality but adding some long needed improvements in technology and comfort. We look forward to your return later this year to see what we've been up to.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is quite old. We had a lower level room and you can hear every creaky step of the people above. The toilet did not flush well. The shower changed from scalding to freezing repeatedly. When we arrived, there was a clearly dirty wash cloth hanging on the rack. I put it on the floor. The next day after our room had been "cleaned", this same towel had been hung back up on top of the other towels... GROSS!! The free breakfast was decent for being free, though the waitress was complaining to other employees the entire time we ate about people asking for anything (like some water or a napkin) when they were getting a free breakfast. Not worth it, stay somewhere else when in Taos.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Jillian,
I sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay. I hope you can see with the other Trip Advisor reviews that your experience is not the normal experience for our guests. I have been at the property for a short time and appreciate your comments to become a focus of training going forward. We want to be sure everyone's experience will be a great one. If the front desk was not made aware of the water problem and you have time please e-mail me the room number I will follow up to get that corrected. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience so we can take steps to be sure it will not happen again.

debra.stout@prismhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robinson, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I originally booked another hotel through Booking.com (Worldmark Taos) and at the last minute was told the reservation was not honored, so was offered Sagebrush Inn as a replacement. The staff at Sagebrush did their best to make up for booking.com's mistake by upgrading my family to an "executive suite" for the same price as a king suite. The hotel does not offer any bells and whistles, which one should expect in Taos. The room was dated but gave you the "Taos feel" and the suite had a great view of the mountains. The best part was the breakfast and fireplace. My family skied at Sipapu, a smaller resort 30 minutes from the hotel. I would stay here again as driving through town most of the hotels look worse from the outside, but for the accommodations I feel the price was a little high. During the stay the jacuzzi on site was not working. It is one of the few hotels I could find in Taos that offered suites.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHfarnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear BHfarnum,
Thank you for taking time to review the Sagebrush Inn & Suites after your stay. I'm glad you were directed to our hotel by Booking.com. We are a part of Taos history here being built in 1929. We are excited this year to begin it under new ownership and hope you will visit us again later this year to experience the updates planned for 2014. If there are specifics you would like to share about the "bells and whistles" that you like in a hotel, please e-mail me at.
debra.stout@prismhotels.com.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing