We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Past its prime; not a great value at this price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Past its prime; not a great value at this price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I opted for the Sagebrush Inn as it seemed a little more pleasant than a generic chain motel without being terribly expensive. But, I found it a bit run-down and not really worth paying twice as much as one of several nearby chains.

The Sagebrush Inn has an appealing Southwest-style lobby and patio area that suggests it at some point had aspirations of being a nicer hotel. But, by the time we got to our room, it was clear the Inn is past its prime. We had a mini-suite, and while the room itself was attractive with adobe-esque walls and log beam ceilings, it had virtually no furniture - besides the bed and murphy bed, only two chairs and a small table in the whole large two-room suite. Literally nowhere for the three of us to sit in the living area without pulling the Murphy bed down. Closet space, but no luggage racks or other surfaces to put a suitcase on. The electric heater had fallen off the wall (not a big concern for us since it was summer), as had a picture above the Murphy bed. There was a mini-refrigerator, but it was oddly located inside a TV cabinet where it generated heat that couldn't dissipate; don't know if it was because of the location or just that it didn't work, but it was barely below room temp. The windows had no screens, preventing us from enjoying the cool New Mexico evening and requiring us to run the A/C all night just for ventilation. We don't care much about TV, but it was odd that all the channels were "snowy" since it was cable. The pool was "temporarily" closed for repairs (we could use the pool at the Sagebrush Suites next door), but the amount of accumulated rainwater and algae growth suggested it had been out of service for a long time.

The Sagebrush Inn serves a choice of several good hot breakfasts included in the room rate. The staff that I interacted with were pleasant and helpful. Most of the rooms are set back from the highway around a tree-filled courtyard. Our mini-suite had lots of space, two TVs, and a microwave. At half the price I'd have thought it a bargain, or it would be a good value at the price we paid if better kept.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesDenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I am disappointed to learn you didn't enjoy your stay. You'll be happy to know that a renovation is in the works and we look to start relatively soon. We hope you'll plan a visit in the future.

Respectfully,

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    321
    164
    101
    60
See reviews for
273
367
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good hotel & some clean. Nice sleep bed, two TV, two bed with one sofa bed for family, & mini kitchen. Very clean water & towel. But notice found flood close bed dust not clean. About bathroom some not lock left open. And not good free Wi-Fi internet seen not good connection get crazy hip speeds for laptop, tablet, & smartphone but my smartphone try to connect Wi-Fi stay connect but disconnect again because extra mobile service data cap worst. Wi-Fi found most AD pop-up show and too slow play game high pings because bad internet service not 'Free Wi-Fi High Speed' should called 'Free Wi-Fi AD Internet'.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnimeDeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated and so very encouraging to us all! Thank you so much for taking time to write to tripadvisor.com and we all hope that you will return one day soon.

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in a standard room (no fireplace but a nice little balcony in the back with table & seating) - wish we could have stayed longer! Room was very clean, comfortable, cool, and secure - with an updated flat screen television, mini fridge, free (decent) wifi. Loved the breakfast. Loved the general ambiance of the place. Grounds were nice, but pools were not in working order. Hope to see that remedied soon. Recommended - plan to return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Smrt_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I was sorry to hear your disappointment that our main pool was not open. This situation will be rectified next summer as we are in the beginning stages of a renovation so we do hope to see you again next year!

Respectfully,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We started our trip by driving to Taos, New Mexico. We had stayed at the Sagebrush Inn about 25 years ago. They have added a newer conference center since we were their. The staff at the Inn were very friendly. Each morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast that came with our room. The waitresses in the restaurant were very friendly. The food and service was great. The Sagbrush Inn has been bought by new owners and they were beginning to update. I expect it will be very nice. The area around Taos is very nice and quite authentic. We spent two days around the area. I highly recommend going there.

Room Tip: Ask for the room Georgia O'Keefe painted and stayed in when she was in Taos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mskitty752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a great review and recommending us. We too are excited about the new ownership here and the plans the have for the hotel. Hopefully you wont wait another 25 years to visit us!

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had a great time and did not win or place in the gholf tournament but the room had two great beds and a sitting area with a tv and a tiv in the bed rooom and was spacious and clean, my ed room door opened to the swimming pool and the the bath room was clean and cleaned every morning.. I would recommend and will go back to the Sage Brush Inn.. Had a nice breakfast each morning ..you ordered from a menu with five items and great selecton..

Room Tip: get a ground floor and close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronaldb_nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review! I believe the staff had just as much fun with your group as you did and we look forward to your next Tournament.

Respectfully,

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I traveled to Taos on a whim and after finding albuquerque was too busy for a relaxing weekend. It was well worth the drive!! The property is very well taken care of. Very comfortable and relaxing. Everyone was so nice!! We cannot wait to go back in July. Kudos to all the staff!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward in seeing you in July. Thank you again for a great review!

Sincerely,

Mark N
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel quite charming...rooms are large with nice fireplace! Great food ... great breakfast! Staff was so very helpful and friendly. Great experience and will definitely be back. I highly recommend Sagebrush Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review! I am glad to hear my staff was helpful and you enjoyed the food. I will definitely share your comments with my staff and I look forward in seeing you again at the Sagebrush Inn.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing