We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RUN FROM THIS PLACE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RUN FROM THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Like most of the hotels/motels in Taos, this one is just old and worn out. Ricky and Lucy Ricardo stay there. Property hasnt seen any upkeep in years as the owners arent spending anything to keep it up. The website photos are misleading or taken 30 years ago. Taos is just a dirty little tourist trap and this is one of many "bargains" for a hotel. The room was dirty, smelled like bleach. Water pressure was terrible, carpet was dirty. Pillows were horrible. A/C unit froze us at night but room to stuffy without. Only saving point was the breakfast. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I am truly saddened that you weren't able to appreciate the beauty that is Taos. That being said, we welcome all comments good and bad, it's what makes us such a great hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of Taos and the Sagebrush Inn.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    318
    163
    96
    60
See reviews for
269
361
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was a little leery of staying here because the price was so reasonable. I guess technically it's a motel, but feels so much more than that. The rooms are clean, the amenities plentiful, and the grounds are nicely laid out and landscaped. Despite the fact that Sagebrush is on the main road, we found it very peaceful and relaxing. Ask for a room at the back, away from the main road, and upstairs on the 2nd floor. There were a few glitches: our room was not cleaned when we walked in, but that gave us a good excuse to ask for another room upstairs in a better location. We checked in on a busy Fiesta weekend, and the staff seemed a bit stressed, but other than that a big thumbs up. And a good free breakfast too!

Room Tip: See above. Ask for a 2nd floor room at the back, facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we sincerely appreciate the time it took to do the review and look forward in seeing you in the future.

Sincwerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark,Delaware
Level Contributor
268 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The band on the weekend was a nice perk. The room was spacious and we had a good night sleep there. The bed was great! Shower was very nice. The other best feature was the made to order breakfast here. Hot and not the usual crap breakfast. Good food, real food!! The problem here is that you can't reach the front desk when you dial zero. You have to walk over to the front desk in the next building because they bought another hotel next door and their systems are not compatible.

One other thing we didn't like was that the maid let us put our things in our room that was not prepared for us and we locked our stuff in there. When we came back from driving around our room was open and anyone could have stolen our luggage. We were upset about this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
On behalf of our staff, we sincerely thank you for writing such a nice review and equally apologize for the error on our housekeeping department. You concerns were shared with the staff. Thank you again for your response and we do hope to see you sometime again in the future.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were told to expect an "awful" property but we were pleasantly surprised. My friend and I shared a small suite - in the newer building and we stayed three nights and it was quiet and clean. We only had breakfast in the restaurant and it was fine. I would rate this property as better than average - the price is very reasonable - for a small increase, upgrade to a suite, but you won't be in the historic part of the property. I would rate this property as a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We can't thank you enough for deciding to stay with us despite what you heard. As new management, we are diligently working to erase any negativity surrounding the Sagebrush Inn. In fact, we are in the beginning stages of a substantial remodel and I would love for you to come back in the future as we're only going to get much, much better. If you should find yourself returning to Taos, please contact me directly at mark.najera@prismhotels.com so I can personally take care of your reservations.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

So, we just stayed here while in Taos last week. This place is in decline and it's pretty obvious. When you enter the property (it's huge) and drive around a bit, it becomes obvious that the upkeep is not great. We saw no maintenance workers on the property the entire time we were there. I honestly wouldn't be surprised if this place closes soon. There also seem to be entire sections of rooms that are closed off and not being used any more.

Other cons:
1. The main pool was covered and closed. No explanation.
2. Rooms on 1st floor are NOT quiet. We could hear EVERY single foot step of the people above us walking around. It was so bad. The old adobe flooring really needs an update. It literally kept us up at night and woke us way too early. We are from NYC and pretty used to noise from neighbors, but hearing these footsteps above us was exceptionally loud and frustrating.
3. Room might not be ready when you check in. Check in is at 3pm. We checked in then, and were given our room key. We proceeded to our room but the door was open and the room was dirty. The woman cleaning the room was in the room next door and she saw us and was like, "Wait. They already gave you your key? OH my god. WHY didn't they tell me? It won't be ready for another 30 minutes at least..." We went back to main desk and let them know and asked if they had another room that might be ready for us. They said no, that they were completely booked so we just had to wait around...

PRO:
1. The complimentary breakfast was amazing. It's like a sit down restaurant- you can choose from eggs or pancakes and they bring it to you. Delish!

Room Tip: If you stay here, get a room on the 2nd floor to avoid noise of footsteps above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We welcome both good and bad comments as it only helps to improve our operation, which is what helps us to continue to be one of the best hotels in Taos! I have shared your comments with the staff and sincerely apologize for our shortcomings.

Best Regards,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansbury Park, Ut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I found the Sagebrush in to be an OK experience. If you are looking for a luxury stay this is not the place. We booked a fireplace room. I think we paid a little extra for it. Not really worth it. The hotel seemed a little run down and not overly clean.

The staff was very friendly, the food was very good, the friday night bar band was fun. The bed was comfy.

If you are a 5* traveler this hotel is not for you. If your a 3* traveler it should be fine. Would I stay there again. Yes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezzieraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize if we didn't meet your expectations and do invite you to give us a second opportunity if your ever in Taos again. Please feel free to contact me at mark.najera@prismhotels.com so I may take care of your reservations personally.

Respectfully,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We chose this place for a last minute 4th of July getaway since they accept dogs. The grounds are nice with tree lined courtyards and charming adobe style architecture with views of the mountains. The hotel is located on a major thoroughfare three miles south of the plaza- about a ten minute drive. Unfortunately, the rooms are run down and probably haven't been updated in 30 years. Chipped furniture, warn walls and soiled counter tops. The mattresses were completely unacceptable, the likes of which I haven't seen since attending summer camp. I could feel the springs against my back. The staff were generally surly and housekeeping leaves something to be desired. I had to ask for toilet paper, soap, and plastic cups since the room wasn't restocked. Just outside our room is a courtyard with a pool that was shuttered and covered with a torn plastic tarp and a sign indicated that it was "temporarily closed." The old historic part of the inn has a charming patio filled with old rusted furniture and filthy plastic chairs. When I asked about cleaning off a chair to sit on, the bartender handed me a filthy bar rag. Overall, I suspect that you can do much better at any of the chain hotels nearby. One positive- they do provide a cooked hot breakfast with the cost of the room. But that didn't come close to making this a good value.

Room Tip: There apparently is a new building on the property that also has a working pool. We didn't see i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLguyTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I am certainly distressed that your stay was anything but pleasurable. I apologize for the dated appearance and condition. Please note that we are in the beginning stages of a remodel and look forward to bringing the Sagebrush Inn back to it's glory. I invite you to come back in the future and hope you'll give us a 2nd try to meet your expectations.

Respectfully,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing