We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Peachtree City, Georgia USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
Reviewed 25 August 2007

This place is cute as a button, very clean room, very friendly people. The night we stayed, there was live music in the restaurant. Excellent music, and a large group of locals having a great time in the beautifully rustic restaurant. In the morning, a made to order, delicious breakfast was included with the room. Would love to stay here again if we come back to Taos.

  • Liked — Very rustic, romantic atmosphere
  • Disliked — Had a small problem with the plumbing.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachtreeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    330
    172
    109
    62
See reviews for
279
382
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

I was a little nervous about reserving a room here, since the reviews are all over the place. But I thought that I would take a chance and I'm glad I did. The room was HUGE. It was old but very comfortable and clean. It had a back door, leading to a small patio with a lovely view of miles of empty space. The staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was really good. The bar was a fun place to hang out, although we were disappointed to find that the live music is only on the weekends and we were there mid-week.

I think the variation in experience reported has a lot to do with where your room is located. This hotel was originally built in the 20's and has been adding rooms ever since. It sounds like the people who were unhappy were the people who got the oldest rooms, which are much smaller and darker. The receptionist did remark to us that the rooms we were in were not even offered on-line. You need to call and reserve them directly. Ask for the suite with the Murphy bed.

I will say, if you're a person who really likes the big box motels, you won't like this. It's old, which is part of it's charm. But that also means it doesn't have some of the amenities of the newer properties.

All of that said, we loved it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Room size and hotel location
  • Disliked — Both hot tubs we down when we were there.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank COSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Room was spacious but dark and at night poorly lighted. Towels were frayed, beds uncomfortable, rug and bedspreads were worn. Air conditioner touched second bed and was very loud. Fortunately we could open the windows for a cross breeze at night.

On a positive note, staff was friendly, and breakfast was made to order....even had linen table cloths. With a little sprucing up this place could be charming.

  • Liked — breakfast and staff
  • Disliked — see review for details
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smallpebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

Sagebrush Inn has many stories - here's ours: We were with a big group staying here for a sports event. The breakfast (sit down and order breakfast) was great, service was great. Check-In was without problem. Restaurant and Bar are great meeting areas for adults while the kids watch movies. BIG HINT__ Book an Executive Suite which is in a newer building, away from the crowd. Rooms are large, clean and QUIET!!. There's plenty of space for the kids to run around outside without annoying anyone, and a good hot-tub room. Like most things in NM, there are quirks, but if you are in an Executive Suite, this place is GREAT! Been here twice this season and it served our purposes very well.

  • Liked — Clean, large rooms in Executive suites
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nmtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

We had a great weekend at the Sagebrush Inn. It is a rustic older hotel which has the feel of historic Taos. The grounds are well kept and the rooms, though older, are clean. We stayed several nights and after the first - were happy to see that all of the bed linens were removed, cleaned and returned, including the bedspread. Upon check-in, we requested a quiet room. The placed us on the second floor of the rear of property, facing the interior courtyard. I don't know if they purposely did this, but they didn't book anyone next to us for two nights (seemed to space out guests every other room) which was wonderful. With the great AARP rate and the breakfast selections, we will definitely be returning on our next visit in May.

  • Liked — You feel as though you are staying in an old adobe
  • Disliked — lighting in the rooms - dark
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackDogVintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

This is the second time that we have stayed in this motel (Feb. 9th) . Ironically, we stayed in the same room last March. It was even cleaner than back then. We had a fireplace room with one king in the fireplace room and another in a seperate room where you could close the door. The second room had lots of windows.

The restaurant has great food. There is one big drawback. If you go with a big group (nine of us including five children), make sure to ask them how long you will have to wait for your food. It took one hour for ours to arrive. They said they only had one chef working and there supposedly were a lot of people who had ordered first. So, be aware of the number of tables ahead of you and ask in the beginning what they think the wait will be before you receive your dinner (If you are concerned about waiting a long time).

The free hot breakfast was delicious with four choices to choose from. Juice and tea/coffee were included. The waitresses were pleasant and the food arrived within a reasonable length of time.

Overall, it was a nice experience. We will stay here if the Comfort Suites is full. We are Choice Privileges members so we usually stay with them to receive points.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2006

This hotel has lovely public spaces and the rooms are set up around a courtyard that has real charm. The staff was gracious and welcoming. When we opened the door to our room, however, our hearts sank. The room was small, dark and dirty, with antedeluvian carpets and an uncomfortable bed. The comforter on our bed had large holes in it and smelled like it hadn't been washed in a long long time. The heating system in the room was very primitive and we either baked or froze. None of the windows opened so we were more or less sealed in with the grime. We have had better rooms in Motel 6 at one third the cost.

Helpful?
2 Thank Proustfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Property: Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Address: 1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Taos landmark, the Sagebrush Inn opened in 1931 as a 17 room hotel, catering to guests traveling by carriage along the trade route between New York and Arizona. Today, the newly restored Sagebrush Inn & Suites offers 156 graciously appointed guestrooms and suites, onsite dining, meeting and event space, and much more. A mix of modern comforts and conveniences surrounded by historic Southwestern charm. The Inn's scenic grounds offer graceful portals, patios, and traditional brick walkways connecting courtyards ideal for gathering, all with spectacular views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. With an outdoor swimming pool and three hot tubs, finding somewhere to unwind is easy at Sagebrush Inn & Suites. Interiors feature a classic Southwestern art collection by some of the most well respected regional artists, traditional kiva style fireplaces, authentic hand carved furniture and other historic touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel
Sagebrush Inn & Suites Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing