We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice location!”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We have been to many many motels and inns while on a cross country road trip. This is one of the better budget accommodations. It's clean, offers free wifi but unlike all the other budget places we have been to, they did NOT offer a free breakfast. The price was about the same give or take a few bucks but not offering breakfast is the only reason I think his isn't the best deal in town.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnandalyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sungodlodge, General Manager at Sun God Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed. While we do offer complimentary coffee both in the room and in the lobby, we do not offer breakfast unfortunately due to limited facilities. Our goal is to provide clean accommodations at a fair price, so we do feel we are one of the best values in town and are glad you agree! We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit the area. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Sincerely,

Rob Suter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed in a room in the back of the property, no traffic noise, room was neat, clean, non smoking. Not within walking distance of the Plaza, but rate is about 1/2 of many hotels in Taos. Yes, you can walk across the street to Wal-Mart, we see this as a plus. We plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEVERAGEBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Hair in towels/bathroom
Poor maintenance, old/broken, dirty,
Removed fire alarm, electric plugs one feet from water taps.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank cvmc_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Checked in at the last minute as I was passing through Taos. The first basic room I was given cost about $80 all up with taxes, and the bed was busted so the guy at the reception upgraded me to a room at the back (151) of the property which is apparently the equivalent of a deluxe room. The room was clean enough but the bed was still uncomfortable. For the money it wasn't worth it - the whole place was a dive. It looked like I was going to have an experience out of the movie 'vacancy' or something. I'd steer clear just for the fact it has uncomfortable beds and feels creepy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydsider086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Seems they could have done more with the possible views of the mountain when they built the place, but they didnt.

As it is the value is really somewhere between good and very good, but the system wont let me say 3 1/2. The staff is decently polite, but I wouldnt go as far as to say helpful. Maybe just 2 1/2 stars. Maybe I should have gone as low as two, really.

The room is clean and moderately comfortable, but i have slept better in other places. But it wasn't bad. They do have WiFi.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The amenities were pretty nice but the No Air Conditioning was the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btez424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sungodlodge, General Manager at Sun God Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

We apologize that lack of AC was an issue during your recent trip. Not all of our room types have air conditioning, namely our Standard Queen rooms, which do have windows and ceiling fans which are typically enough for most guests in our climate as it generally gets pretty cool overnight, even during the middle of summer. We hope that you enjoyed your stay otherwise and we hope to welcome you again to one of our room types that do have AC. Thanks again for choosing the Sun God Lodge for your stay in Taos.

Rob Suter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The place is cute and quaint, but the bed was hard and lumpy - felt like sleeping on a box spring. The telephones don't work (why they leave it in the room is a mystery) and there is no staff on duty from 10:00 p.m. until 8:00 a.m. The staff is pleasant but provided no help when I needed to make a phone call - couldn't even direct me to a pay phone and didn't return a message I had left on their voicemail.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pygmygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £53 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos
Sun God Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing