We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quiet stay!”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here over Labor day weekend! The hotel had sufficient parking, it was simple, comfortable and enough for what we needed that weekend. The room was small, but like I said it had everything we needed. I liked the unique New Mexican decor, there was plenty of lighting in the room, it was clean, reasonable prices and also very quiet. We will definitely be coming back here to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriana07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

I needed a last minute place to stay in Taos on a recent trip and found the Sun God Lodge. It turned out to be a nice surprise. The grounds are quite lovely and the front desk staff was very helpful and super friendly. It is not the most convenient location but for the price it is really hard to beat. My room was fine but the coffee pot was a little nasty. I would suggest staying in the back of the hotel. I have recommended this motel to friends and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have stayed at the Sun God Lodge off and on for a decade. Indeed, the decline seems over and this is a solid 3 star spot to spend a night or 3 in Taos. Parking is safe, free, and close, yet the parking lot does not overwhelm the view. There are 3 room areas, the main motel (2 queens, a bit old, but clean, quiet and simple with opening windows); the two story "south annex", and the two story annexes at the rear (east) side (most modern). I tend to the simple main motel as it is a good bang for the buck. Several eating places are near enough, and the Walmart (Chinese Embassy) across the street is useful for forgotten items or to stock up for a foray into the Mountains.

The desk folk are helpful, sincere, and courteous. Motorcycle friendly.

If you want an elegant experience this is not your place, but you can "cook out" on a BBQ of your own in the courtyard and mingle with other guests enjoying the outdoors at sunset, an "amenity" not found in the fancy spots in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are away from highway noise. South rooms have nice mountain view to the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The room was small, the ice machine and hot tube were broke, and the beds were not very comfortable. We pulled into town kind of late and the rooms looked good on the internet so we stopped in. The free wifi was ok at best and the parking lot was kind of dark. Dogs are allowed, but that is a plus or a minus depending on if you travel with pets.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Although this is obviously an older property--it was comfortable,clean,and,well kept by someone who cares.Great staff/management ! Very accomidating! Gaspar and Cindy were helpful and personable. The view of the mountains was great! And the grassy area with the pic-nic tables was refreshing-along with the beutiful flowers surrounding it. All in all-a nice expierience.

Room Tip: You might want to reserve a room more towards the back ,away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have stayed at the Sun God off and on for 20 years. As the review (above) states, the Lodge had a period of sad decline (sad, because this cool old place was built at the dawn of the 1950s, and its kind is rare anymore).

However, last year new management came on the scene and they are FABULOUS. The place started to look better and better; and it is great to see.

The outdoor hot tub (that I enjoyed immensely a decade ago) was resurrected and has all the newest technology and safety features. The beautiful wood is oiled, the stucco is repaired, and the grounds are shady, green, and inviting.

The front courtyard is huge, and green, with picnic tables under giant trees. Often a dozen (or more) guests sit out in the cool green shade, and enjoy the awesome views of sunset on Taos mountain. The hollyhocks and other flowers are so colorful.

The rooms on the second story East court yard have amazing mountain views. The Sangre de Cristo mountains wrap around Toas, and there are views in all directions from rooms at Sun God.

Scenes from the movie "Twins," with Danny DeVito and Arnold Schwarzenegger, were filmed at Sun God, and the current managers showed me the sign that stood out front in those days. They also showed me the picture post cards from the late 1940's when the place was "a mile from town."

Now, Sun God is well situated in the midst of modern Taos.

Finally, it is so heart-warming to see one one these mid-century motor courts that is rising rather than sinking into the toll of time. In Santa Fe, El Rey Inn is such a place, and the Sun God Lodge of Taos, may just be ready to enjoy its best days yet.

Room Tip: Southside has best mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The lowest cost room on a two week trip through Southern Colorado and New Mexico. An older property which has clearly been taken over by owners who care about maintaining their business. The rooms aren't fancy, no big screen TV, but clean and the rooms surround a lovely classic New Mexico courtyard with lots of shade and inviting tables. If you want fancy digs this isn't the place for you, but if you just want a friendly unpretentious place to stay, look no further.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Cpyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £55 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos
Sun God Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing