We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun God Lodge
Nearby Hotels
El Pueblo Lodge(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Taos Inn(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sagebrush Inn & Suites(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fonda de Taos(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$107
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Monte Sagrado(Taos)
US$161
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
75
92
66
58
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
92
66
58
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred riversanta fenew mexicokitchenettecourtyardnmpueblo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We called only hours before our arrival and the staff scrambled to get us adjoining rooms in the face of a boiler failure that made some of the 50 or so rooms in the motel unavailable. They succeeded in arranging for a deluxe queen room and a room with two queens and a kitchenette in one of the buildings furthest from the highway.
We rate this place above average because of the thought and care that went into the design and decor. The rooms are Taos to a "T." Nichos with hand-crafted art, subtle lighting, hand-made furniture, hand-laid tile, and southwestern prints from the likes of the lateTaoseño R C Gorman. We found the price reasonable for the quality of the space and the location, minutes from the town plaza.
There are some tradeoff for this chance to live like a native. The rooms were thin on towels, tissues (absent), and other supplies. Mattress toppers would have helped bed comfort. The kitchenette offered one fork, two spoons, four plates, and no dish soap or other cleaning supplies. (We used picnic plastics from our cache.) The wooden steps were icy in places.
No breakfast is served (in fact the office had yet to open when we left at 9 a.m.), but with excellent options like Michael's only minutes away this was not really a problem. The courtyard was snowy and the hot tub unused during our stay, but both amenities would appeal to summer visitors and skiers, respective of the season.
Bring a few extra supplies and enjoy the ambiance!

Room Tip: Not all the 100 numbered rooms are on the first floor. Ask if this is a problem.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant stay. It's nice to stay in a decent place where the service is attentive and personable. The managers are always pleasant and positive. The hot tub is a great end to a busy day. We sat out in the tub under the stars. Probably the only negative is that the rooms are a bit dark, even with the blinds open.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We asked for the quietest room they had that still faced the lawn (we didn't want to pay for a kitchenette we would not use) and really liked the charm of the upstairs room on the end. Overall, the hotel looked well kept, room was superclean, and the lawn service kept flowers and lawn looking great. We had a noisy neighbor knocking on their next door room door, which was an interruption in a great night's rest, so it would depend on who's next to you. I liked staying at this local place and do recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room upstairs if you can do stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jahanavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here while taking a tour of northern New Mexico during the changing of the fall leaves. We chose this motel because it appeared to be among the nicest in the area and the prices were reasonable. However, upon arriving in Taos, we decided to have dinner first, so I called the motel and discovered they only had booked one room for us even though we had a confirmation for two rooms. Fortunately, there were other rooms still available, but had this happened the previous weekend, we would have been out of luck. Upon arriving at the motel and checking in, the first room had a broken deadbolt, so we were moved into another room, which was much larger than the first with two queen beds instead of one king. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The lighting is all compact flourescent bulbs and is not bright enough, especially above the vanity area. The biggest problem, however, was that our room was on the second floor of one of the back buildings, and getting our bags up the narrow stairs was a challenge. There was no offer to help us with them, so we had to do it ourselves. Also, the room had Wi-Fi, but we could never get it to work well.....it continually dropped the signal, so we finally just gave up on that. Next time we come through Taos, we will consider staying here again, but will request a downstairs room.

Room Tip: Insist on a ground floor room. The stairs to the upper rooms in the back units are difficult to negotiate with your bags and there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We chose the Sun God because it accepts dogs and the pictures and reviews looked good. When we arrived the room had ridges in the carpet like there had been water damage and it was stained everywhere. Walls and bedspread were dirty, too. There was a strange smell in the room, like a very strong chemical. It immediately began to give me a headache and nausea. Even the airconditioning could not eradicate the odor. The redeeming factor was that the people at the front desk were willing to be accommodating and offered to move us to another room, although they basically said the room was in that kind of shape because it WAS a dog room. It seemed for the pet fee shoud mean the room is clean before the next person stays there. The only other room available on this holiday weekend that was a dog friendly room did look better, but unfortunately it did not have air conditioning and was much smaller- not really room to put my dog's kennel, so we declined it. There were no other reasonably priced dog accepting rooms anywhere in town, so we had to stick it out for the night. They were kind enough to let us out of the second night of our reservation without charging us a cancellation fee. Perhaps the non-pet rooms are better, but it took me the rest of the weekend to get over the headache.

Room Tip: Look at the room first.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnebernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews