We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat-Cozy-Friendly”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent one evening in this location. Neat little room that felt "right" for this city. Neat touches in the rooms décor. The owner (Jasper I believe) was exceptionally friendly. Perfect example of a small location trying to do things the right way. Didn't use the hot tub but it looked nice and clean. Quiet and comfortable. Close to all the town's attractions. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Owners Cindy and Jasper were very congenial, professional and did everything to make my stay there a great one. Recommendations of local business es and directions to Ojo Caliente made my stay even more enjoyable.The room was quiet, clean and had everything I needed for one or more night's stay. The courtyard makes for a very welcome stay. I highly recommend the Sun God Lodge.
See you next time Cindy and Jasper!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just returned from a 5-night stay in one of the rooms at the back across from the hot tub; really enjoyable. The room was a little smallish for 5 nights, but clean and comfortable. TV worked great, staff was friendly and front courtyard pretty with shade trees and blooming flowers. If I return to Taos I might try to stay again at Sun God. My only criticism is that housekeeping only supplies 2 bath-size towels daily, not enough if you and companion shower and use the hot tub both on same day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with AC, some rooms apparently don't have AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

we have stayed here several times over the years and loved it. It has the old style courtyard in front and a newer 2 story units in the back. we like to stay in the back units they have air conditioning and are close to the hot tub. very quiet and pleasant rooms. this time it seemed that the maintenance was slipping a little. the paint was patchy where the walls had been scrubbed by the bathroom tile and the towel rack was falling off the wall. the rooms were very clean and staff very helpful.

Room Tip: we like to stay in the back. very quiet and private. close to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2wheeltravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a quiet place to get a good night's sleep. The hotel is located on the main street across from Wal-Mart, and is especially convenient if you are wanting to visit Ranchos de Taos.

Our room was large and included a microwave and frig, and came with dishes. The room was clean: clean sheets, clean bathtub, and clean floor.

The hot tub was open and clean the night we were there. The wifi was down due to the provider replacing the buried cable. It should be completed in around 3 weeks.

The best part about this hotel is the staff. The front desk agent, manager, and even the maintenance guy were friendly, professional, and helpful. The front desk agent recommended a few events taking place the night we were there. The following day, the manager and maintenance man made several good recommendations about where to eat.

The staff was also extremely accommodating to infants with special needs (infant is a preemie who must have a VERY clean environment. His room was exceptionally clean.)

Room Tip: If you have an infant with special needs - let the staff know. They are really accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoboDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at this motel only one night and cancelled the second night because of soiled linen on the bed and mold in the bath tub area. The area outside was lovely but there is a need to do some serious cleaning.

Very nice people in the front office and gave good advice on restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

After checking in with a super helpful and friendly desk clerk, we motored to the back of the property and parked right below our second floor motel room. Large room with two queens, mini-kitchen, air-conditioner, large window, great view, nice clean hot tub and very quiet. We also liked the wide deck like walkway in front of the room, it was like having a balcony. We hate being sealed up in the new sterile box like hotel rooms, so this retro motel was a delight. Our mattresses could have had a little more fluff and we had one burned out light bulb, but because the price was reasonable it was no big deal. The managers are a major plus for this hotel, they were superior. We will definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: The rooms are varied and different, the managers will work with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EEMDallasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £55 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos
Sun God Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing