We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice exterior, pleasant staff, lousy rooms.”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Topeka
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice exterior, pleasant staff, lousy rooms.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This place looks great from the outside, and the clerk was pleasant and helpful. The were small and outdated. The mattresses were as old as the motel. The tv was 20 years old and small. The water was so s salty we could not make coffee. The rates were cheap, but for a reason. Good for one night in a pinch.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyboyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    92
    66
    56
    53
See reviews for
69
128
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

You can only make a first impression once...
Erin, the evening clerk made a great first impression with his warm smile, professional attitude and efficiency.
We stayed in room 246 which is nicely appointed with a living area, kitchenette two queen beds and a balcony.
Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wearytraveler277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Not one to write a negative review--but honestly the owner needs to put some repair dollars into this hotel. Room not clean--esp.bathroom. I can do funky for$40--$50 but not for $80. Must say the office check service was excellant--very polite and knowledgable youngman.

Room Tip: Stay away from rm 105--mold in bathroom, window has what looks like a small bullet hole and lrg crac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taos hotels

La Veta, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nicely maintained older Lodge. Much more charm than newer chains. Though on main thoroughfare, it is set back and our room was very quiet. I would stay here again. Also the rates were very reasonable.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent one evening in this location. Neat little room that felt "right" for this city. Neat touches in the rooms décor. The owner (Jasper I believe) was exceptionally friendly. Perfect example of a small location trying to do things the right way. Didn't use the hot tub but it looked nice and clean. Quiet and comfortable. Close to all the town's attractions. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Owners Cindy and Jasper were very congenial, professional and did everything to make my stay there a great one. Recommendations of local business es and directions to Ojo Caliente made my stay even more enjoyable.The room was quiet, clean and had everything I needed for one or more night's stay. The courtyard makes for a very welcome stay. I highly recommend the Sun God Lodge.
See you next time Cindy and Jasper!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just returned from a 5-night stay in one of the rooms at the back across from the hot tub; really enjoyable. The room was a little smallish for 5 nights, but clean and comfortable. TV worked great, staff was friendly and front courtyard pretty with shade trees and blooming flowers. If I return to Taos I might try to stay again at Sun God. My only criticism is that housekeeping only supplies 2 bath-size towels daily, not enough if you and companion shower and use the hot tub both on same day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with AC, some rooms apparently don't have AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.7 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Property: Sun God Lodge
Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos
Sun God Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing