We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and welcoming refuge”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Sun God Lodge is a great example of why we like owner-operated inns when we travel- this inn had so much more personality than a chain hotel, we felt very warmly welcomed by the owners and the space itself. We stayed in a room at the back of the property with a kitchenette and a sitting room. We were able to cook a simple dinner and breakfast there, and relax in the sitting room. We like ambient lighting, and found the dimmer switches that adjusted the lighting in the statuary niches added to a restful atmosphere. I also appreciated the TV in the bedroom being inside an armoir, and a separate lighted make up space from the bathroom. The price was very reasonable, and our hosts were fantastic. There was a frost covered field outside of our bedroom window, with a good view of the rose tinted mountains at sunrise.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the property, away from the highway, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this quaint hotel in Taos. Lovely courtyard, the rooms are a good size, clean and with enough amenities. If you need a place to stay and don't want to spend a lot this is definitely the place. It is close to everything. I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank HeileenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Let's see - attractively landscaped & parklike entryway, R.C. Gorman art at check-in and art prints from real Taos artists in the room, ceramic light fixtures, a kachina in a niche in the wall. We had a spacious suite with a stove & fridge on our 3-night stay. TVs in both rooms, comfy beds, helpful staff. Everything worked well, except on our last morning, when it appears a power outage had knocked out the hot water & wifi - restored before we left. We'd recommend the Sun God as a reasonably priced hotel in an attractive setting. Not walking distance from the Plaza, but price is right.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Old_Drum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this place because of the positive reviews. HA!! Deluxe room was filthy. Old and quaint at first glance but carpet dirty.Floors dirty.sheets and blankets stained. WiFi didn't work. Very disappointed!!! I would hate to see what the standard room looks like

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PhotoGal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good room for the price and comfortable. Would stay again if needed, but I am here to learn how to build earthships.....but will recommend. I can't submit without writing a whole bunch so i hope that this is enough to please the TripAdvisor rating and review team

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

When we first opened the door to our Kitchenette Room; We felt we had stepped into a time warp : ) UNIQUE, Does Not Begin to describe the Ambiance, Decor, Spotless Cleanliness, and
Warmth of our room and the surrounding area. The Managers were two of the friendliest Individuals we have ever encountered. What a way to stay in Old Taos. We also HIGHLY Recommend the Festivals; we attended the WOOL festival and loved every minute.

Room Tip: If you wish to save a bit on meals, though there are many fine restaurants there, Get the Kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This place looks great from the outside, and the clerk was pleasant and helpful. The were small and outdated. The mattresses were as old as the motel. The tv was 20 years old and small. The water was so s salty we could not make coffee. The rates were cheap, but for a reason. Good for one night in a pinch.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyboyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £55 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos
Sun God Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing