We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While in Tacos a must stay”
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Queen Creek AZ
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“While in Tacos a must stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This lodge is very nice, quiet and run by super nice people Gasper and Cindy that go out of way to make your stay with them like home. The place is convenient to eateries and is motorcycle friendly. While traveling to this beautiful area this place is must stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    92
    66
    56
    55
See reviews for
70
128
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is an older adobe motel with a South Western theme. It is very quiet with no other guest plumbing noise at all. We have stayed here before and will stay again. With in walking distance of a good restaurant and a short driving distance of historic downtown with more restaurants, shopping and art galleries. It does not provide breakfast or hair driers, but the ability to sleep
more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with two queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Charming,clean, quiet and an excellent value that's motorcycle friendly! This boutique hotel is run by Cindy & Jasper who go out of their way to make your stay feel like home. The location is convenient to everything. The grounds are well manicured with hanging baskets of flowers, beautiful trees and umbrellaed picnic tables in a lovely lawn area. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Taos!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisakb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nice garden,very tasteful decor,friendly and helpful staff. Far from Plaza, better with car.
Rooms with character. Very good for the price. Hot tab. Lovely room, not noisy at all. Good deal.
Nice place to relax

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms areood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Sun God Lodge for one night in August 2014 whilst traveling around New Mexico with a friend.

The hotel is a little oasis off a busy road and the owner is nice.

I don't think I heard any cars in the night and our room (two queen beds) was lovely; very tasteful decor and comfy. Shower and Wifi, fine. My only complaint was that the tv was very old (no menu functionality) and as it was a very hot night, an AC would've been better than the fan.

Unfortunately I did not get to use the hot tub but some other people were enjoying using it on our way back from supper in town.

Desire being at the cheaper end of accommodation in Taos, I would recommend the hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrietthespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our room was one of the lower priced, this after being booked in another room first which flooded after flushing the toilet. Relatively clean but needed refurbished. We checked in on a Sunday and was very quiet. However Monday brought many check ins and quite a bit of noise. Overall good for the low price. WIFI very sporadic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulbert, Oklahoma, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

this hotel is what you think of when you think taos . the room was good not big . the staff was real nice and help and after a long drive the hot tub felt good . kinda like staying with your cousin not perfect but had character . enjoyed the night wespent there .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
365 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Property: Sun God Lodge
Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5967
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos
Sun God Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing