We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Place to Stay”
Review of Taos Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taos Country Inn
Ranked #15 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Antioch, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Unique Place to Stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I, personally, love this place and look forward any time I'm in the area to stay there: the great location makes so many things easy to visit --Kit Carson house, Taos downtown square, several great restaurants and fun gift shops --all easily walkable. Then there's the local entertainment and you'd better get there early for a seat. Oh, then there's the fabulous Doc Martin restaurant within the Taos Inn to enjoy (even if it's a bit pricey). But what's irreplaceable is the ambiance of an Inn that has been there for years, complete with furniture, fixtures, and features you were hoping for. BUT, for those who want the latest in airconditioning, elevators, and ice machines as well as modern facilities without the possibility of hearing any music wafting thru the walls--FORGET IT. Just leave it for us who love this place. Sharon T.

Room Tip: IF the weather is hot, make sure windows open. Also, be sure to bring a flashlight for when returni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We loved our stay! We were greeted by Yolanda with a big hug! It was like going to visit a great friend. We had no plans when we got there, but Yolanda got out her pen, a map and a highlighter. She mapped out restaurants, and some great activities. We had such a great time, we loved listening to the history of the inn. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Check out her website, it makes picking a room easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay with Yolanda was like visiting an old friend. The rooms were lovely and very spacious and comfortable. My kids couldn't wait to see what Yolanda would be cooking up for breakfast in morning and it was always delicious! We miss it already.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heater70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We loved our experience at the Taos Country Inn. Yolanda, the innkeeper, was dear and oh, so knowledgeable about every attraction and experience there. We fondly remember her with highlighter in hand marking a route or a place that we shouldn't miss while we were there. Her food was excellent, the accommodations were warm and inviting and the hospitality could not be topped anywhere. I called her on New Years' Eve to see how she was doing and to let her know we were thinking of her. I know you'll enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 407Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This place was fantastic and words just can't begin to describe how good it was. The hostess was friendly and filled with helpful suggestions and interesting stories about how the Inn began.

The bed & room were large, the view breathtaking, the mattress firm, the shower hot and strong, freezer & fridge were available for guests in a public room, there was a comfy public sitting room around a fire and the breakfasts were to die for.

Nearby was the fascinating and picturesque pueblo as well as downtown Taos with all its unique art.

The only downside was the altitude, which often left me too nauseated to enjoy the delicious food -- but that can't be blamed on the delightful host or Inn.

This place is NOT to be missed!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VirtualDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We like the country locations, but still close to what we want to see. Spent four nights in Yolanda's charming Bed & Breakfast. We chose one of the rooms with the 8 foot vanity, so my husband and I had plenty of room to spread out and because of the separate sitting area as I go to bed earlier than my husband. Just enjoyed looking up at the beautiful wood ceiling and appreciated the down comforter on our king size bed. Disappointed I didn't hear the coyotes at night and wish we would have had some wood to build a fire. But having stayed in many B&B's over our years of travels, we have never had a more wonderful host/owner. She really cares and is interested in her travelers that come thru her doors. Just a beautiful dining room and living room for your enjoyment. Being a Adobe structure WIFI was only available in the Dining Area. No complaints about the breakfast either. Always a buffet of fresh fruit, cheese & granola and a hot entree different ever morning.

Room Tip: The photos on line are very accurate. Our suite had mostly north exposure, so I'd ask for a sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyagirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.6 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Sky Retreat at San Geronimo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taos Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taos Country Inn

Property: Taos Country Inn
Address: 720 Karavas Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Taos Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an extraordinary vacation at our historic Taos Bed and Breakfast hacienda nestled among beautiful gardens and towering trees on 22 acres in Taos, New Mexico. Your day begins in your luxurious suite, with such Southwestern treasures as hand-carved furniture, kiva fireplaces and local artwork. After a bountiful gourmet breakfast, explore the cultural and active pursuits that make Taos NM unique: the Historic Taos Plaza, art galleries and festivals, the 1000-year-old Native American community at Taos Pueblo, horseback riding, hiking, fishing, rafting and more. In the evening, relax on one of the beautiful patios and soak in amazing sunsets, incredible views of Taos Mountain and the star-filled New Mexico sky. Your hostess and Taos native Yolanda Deveaux is happy to share her knowledge of Taos and its history to make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taos Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ranchito
Ranchito Country Inn
Taos Country Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing