We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time and scenic ride”

Los Rios River Runners
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Los Rios River Runners is New Mexico's oldest, largest, and most experienced rafting company. We've been rafting through the spectacular river canyons of northern New Mexico since 1972. We offer trips from mild to wild, from half-day to 3-days, from the world-class white-knuckle whitewater of the Taos Box (available as a full-day adventure or as part of a multi-day overnight) to family fun adventures and serene floats. Spend starry nights in the serene Chama wilderness, or float along a mellow section of the Rio Grande with a Native Pueblo guide and a traditional feast meal awaiting you at the takeout. Sunset dinner floats too! And check out our multi-sport adventures: rock and raft, pedal and paddle, and paddle and saddle. Los Rios has more access to more stretches of river than any other NM rafting company, and offers the broadest variety of trips. Come boating with us, and take home lifetime memories.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun time and scenic ride”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is absolutely worth doing. Our guide Trenton was outstanding on the half day run. He was very experienced and a great teacher. One person almost popped out of the raft, and if they had I know he would have handled it and kept people safe. The ride. Itself is fun with some smooth parts and quick rapids. It is a scenic drive from Santa Fe and on the way to Taos. Just do it,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    18
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Taos Box high intensity ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Our guide Bryan, was really great. Really knowledgable of the river and was very specific in the instructions to keep us all in the boat. Water was really low but didn't stop Us. Class 4 rapid anenema was a BEAST! We got stuck on the rapid but Bryan bailed us out :-) awesome day and lived to tell the story. Want an adrenaline rush? Take the taos Box.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, NM
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go Big!! Advice from our raft guide!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went on the Race Course half-day excursion and it was awesome! There were six of us, all rookies, and a little nervous. Our guide was great (Bruce) and knew the river like the back of his hand. This made a huge difference as he knew exactly how to lead us down so we wouldn't intentionally fall out! We got to swim along the route and got in some great rapids. As a (sort of) paranoid mom, I was very much at ease with the difficulty. Snacks were provided at the end as boats were loaded. Definitely worth the cost. Wish we could do it again soon!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrappingMelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Miguel is a rock star!!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

While we didn't hit any class 4 (not their fault, it was late in the year) Miguel made sure to go above and beyond the call to show us a good time on the 1-3. He would ask us if we wanted to go back for more on several rapids, sideways, straight on, hopping rocks, and we did! He also knew interesting tidbits about the river which made the trip all the more interesting. I highly recommend Los Rios, and Miguel. They are much better than the last group/guide we used from a competing company.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayfarer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Fire, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunset Float”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My sister, niece and I decided to take the Sunset Float today ...what a wonderful trip! Our guide, Dylan, was a hoot and kept us entertained with his stories. We stopped for a dinner that Miguel had prepared for us - wonderful steaks on the grill, an incredible salad - and he even made a birthday cake for my sister! The weather was perfect, the trip was calm and peaceful, and Dylan and Miguel made the trip very special for my sister's birthday. We will be doing this again, and hopefully with Dylan and Miguel! HIGHLY recommend Los Rios!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Rios River Runners also viewed

 

Been to Los Rios River Runners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing