We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware using online map”
Review of The Love Apple

The Love Apple
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Hilton Head Island
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beware using online map”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We got lost taking the right fork out of town toward the pueblo, so stay on the main drag-Paseo del Pueblo and it is just before Wataburger on right . Interesting (verging on bizarre setting) but spectacular food! Incredible caramel ice cream made right there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annacatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    175
    63
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Always a great choice for dinner”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Every time I visit Taos, The Love Apple is my favorite restaurant. I love the atmosphere, the impeccable service but must of all the food. I like the concept of local organic food.
I suggest making reservation as it is usually a full house.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarbear29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little over-hyped”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The food was perfectly prepared and is local/organic. However, the choices are limited and the prices lean towards the high side. The wine list looked to be extensive. Keep in mind that they do not accept credit cards - which is so 20th century.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miller27410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The food, the menu and the service were all excellent. It is well worth the drive from the center of Taos and the only criticism we have is the signage could be better. The restaurant is small and advance reservations are absolutely a must. The setting is an old chapel -- very charming. The entry is a bit awkward since you must pass the kitchen and service area to get to the dining room, but this is due to the limitations of the building. Also, bring cash or a checkbook. You won't be disappointed, though it IS different.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravel60933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Organically Romantic”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went for our anniversary because a friend said it was romantic. It is, the space is beautiful & the tables are far enough apart so you don't feel that your neighbors are eavesdropping on your every word. Lovely staff as well. Because it was a crowded evening we had to wait a short bit for our reserved table & they gave us each a glass of wine while we bided our time. As mentioned, you enter through a service area & can see that the kitchen is spotless. The food on our crowded night was up & down, probably because they were so busy. My salad had so much vinegar I couldn't eat it. They immediately offered to bring something else but I opted to share my husband's soup, a roasted red pepper-chipotle puree, which was incredible. My husband's Spring Beef Stew was delicious as was my posole, which was lighter & more flavorful than the traditional versions, with the exception that the pork, which should have been meltingly tender, was downright tough. The salted caramel ice cream was yummy, but the chocolate pot de creme with hazelnut crust was dense & gritty. However, it is romantic … the space has been beautifully created, the decor, lighting, art, all lovely. And all the food is mostly organic & locally sourced (a list of their suppliers is written on a board outside the entrance0. We don't live in Taos, but if we did, The Love Apple would be a favorite spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Camandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Love Apple also viewed

 

Been to The Love Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing