We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - terrible service”
Review of Purple Sage Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Purple Sage Cafe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
“Great food - terrible service”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Went for breakfast this morning waitress Denise sat down with a male for awhile before giving us menus. Finally came got our order brought the food which was great but forgot about us again!! Food was great will be back hopefully that waitress will not be there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJ606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    14
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Try it - You might like it!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Missed breakfast at our hotel so we dropped in at the Purple Sage for brunch. What a find!! Delicious food, clean establishment, friendly attentive staff. It's right on the main road with plenty of parking. We would definitely go back. We might have skipped it, had we seen the bad reviews some folks have left. Glad we gave it a try - all around great experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Had the nachos--cold and stale. No excuse for cold food. They were not crowded at all. My husband had a grilled sandwhich--also stale.

Helpful?
Thank Reneecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

It has been about one year since I have been to this restaurant. The last time that I went the service was so poor I swore I'd never be back. Things haven't changed. The employees were very rude, and not friendly at all. The service was very very slow it'll be at least another year before I go back.
I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. There are way too many good restaurants in Taos to have to eat at the Purple Sage.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos County, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude female waitress!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Went to have lunch with some friends on July 8, 2014 around 1pm our waitress was very rude!! She practically threw our drinks at us. That was our first time in and will be our last time. Even if your having a bad day you don't need to take it out on customers we were trying to have a nice lunch she ruined our lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Sage Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing