We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inger Jirby's Guest Houses
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“Best Location”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We are a family of four and stayed at Inger's place for Spring Break 2013. It was a perfect location for us because we enjoyed being right in the heart of downtown close to all the great dining and shopping. We skied 5 out of 7 days so we came with a truck full of gear. The casita had plenty of room for all of us. Sarah the property manager was amazing! She answered all our questions and phone calls.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IngerJirbyManagement, Assistant to Inger Jirby/ Property Mgr at Inger Jirby's Guest Houses, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Inger and I enjoy hearing about our guest's "Taos" experiences and want all of our guests to enjoy their entire stay in Taos without worries. We do our best to assist our guests with anything, whether it is suggestions on where to eat, the "must see" places, or where to get your basic necessities. We want our guests to feel at home---like family and look forward to seeing them again on their next trip to Taos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Awesome! It is such a fun place in a great location. Walking to all the shops couldn't have been easier. The casita was warm and colorful and full of beautiful art. It was such a treat. Inger and Sarah were friendly and helpful with suggestions on where to eat. It just couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeftinkHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Great place! Two-story casita with a kitchen (fully stocked with utensils, pots & pans, etc.), very large living room, big-screen TV, and upstairs (narrow spiral staircase, so not for anyone with difficulty walking) there is a bedroom and bathroom -- all for the same price as many hotel rooms. The bed had a very firm and comfy mattress and we had lots of extra towels. There's even a washer and dryer, which is great if you are staying for a week. It's on a quiet little street but right behind the Plaza, so you are in the center of everything. There are two museums (the Harwood Art Museum and the Blumenschein House) on the same block. Inger was lovely and very welcoming. Wi-fi is free. I'd definitely return.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent three days at Inger Jirby's Guest House and we couldn't have been happier. The property is absolutely beautiful - tons of her art and full of bright colors and sunshine. The house is enormous. Nice kitchen, great living room. Location is terrific, within walking distance of the square and tons of shopping. Inger and her assistant Sarah couldn't have been nicer. Sarah had everything ready for us when we arrived, including maps and brochures of things to do and she told us the best place to watch the fireworks for Fourth of July. The only warning is that the bedroom is upstairs in a loft reached by a spiral staircase so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone mobility impaired. But if you are looking for something with personality and charm and space, you can't go wrong with Inger Jirby's Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Sarah, Ingers assitant, offered
to show us the casitas at Inger Jirbys when we visited her gallery next door. The next day when I sprained my ankle and had to find a place to stay for one more night, we were thrilled to find the casita available. Sarah got it ready for us in minutes, making it work for me and my crutches. I had a great bed downstairs, and my sister was able to climb to the loft to sleep in the queen bed under the wall of windows. We had a full kitchen to prepare dinner so no need to go out for dinner. We loved staying here. Just the kind of place you want to hang out.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crboisvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My family and I needed a place to stay overnight in Taos - one leg of a much longer roadtrip we were taking in the Spring. We were booked into the Jirby Guest Houses by mistake - normally they don't take bookings for one night - but they honored the booking. Boy, are we glad they did.

The space was beautiful - essentially a lavishly furnished one bedroom apartment, in the heart of the beautiful town. our only complaint is that we wish we had had more time to enjoy Taos, and the Guest House!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karnes City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Once I returned home from our stay, I realized what jewel we had picked for the location. Upon arrival we were greeted and treated like royalty. The casita was absolutely perfect, decor off the charts, the gallery and sculpture garden were alive with light, and the artist's work. Our time was spent walking everywhere to museums, galleries and restaurants in literally minutes. At the days end we didn't have to go but minutes to freshen up and walk for dinner or just enjoyed snacking as we had a fully equipped kitchen. I also appreciated having a washer and dryer. Could of acutally packed lighter and will the next time. Our casita couldn't of been a better choice. The sculpture garden was one of the favorite enjoyable experience along with a personal visit with Inger. Our visit inspired me to resume my passion of painting and teaching. Inger couldn't of been more gracious with the time she gave us. I recommend this as a not to miss experience, Hope you find your way to this incredible place.

Room Tip: I am sure the other casita was as clever and rich with art, textiles and just thought out comfort wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.2 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inger Jirby's Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inger Jirby's Guest Houses

Property: Inger Jirby's Guest Houses
Address: 207 Ledoux St, Taos, NM 87571-5943
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inger Jirby's Guest Houses 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1860, this New Mexico accommodation is located in Taos’ Historic District. Featuring original Southwest art and a fireplace, our guest houses feature a full kitchen as well as a washer and dryer in each unit. These 1150sf guest houses are truly your home away from home. Blending historical elements with modern amenities, villas at Inger Jirby's Guest Houses feature wood beamed ceilings and a flat-screen TV with satellite. The bright kitchen includes tea and coffee making facilities. Inger Jirby's Guest Houses share the compound with the world-renown artists’ gallery. Guests are encouraged to take a stroll through the outdoor sculpture garden. Founded in 1923 and showcasing both traditional and modern Taos art, the Harwood Museum is a short walk from these guest houses. The ancient Taos Pueblo ruins are 3.5 miles away. Room type: Villa Featuring a full kitchen equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, this villa includes a flat-screen TV with satellite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inger Jirby's Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inger Jirby's Guest Houses Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing