We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting historic inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on La Loma Plaza
Ranked #9 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My mother and I stayed one night at this old Inn, with part of the building 200 years old.It is located in a old fortress built by Spainish in 18th century. Peggy the owner is very helpful explaining history of the Inn. All furnitures looked antique but comfortable. It has a beautiful courtyard with water fountain. Free cookies and cold drinks were available for afternoon. The best part was the breakfast, with fresh made French toasts and fresh fruits. One warning, don't believe your GPS and Google Map. We spent one hour try to find this place, only to learned from Visit Center that you have to trust Peggy's map, not your navigation apps. Must be due to mysterious power of this area??

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRCTDAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a lovely stay. Beautiful room, and charming property. Jerry was very informative about the area and restaurants. When a problem came up in our room, Jerry was very helpful in the situation. We look forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fastfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Inn on La Loma was a lovely experience. The inn keeper, Jerry Davis, was so nice and welcoming. We enjoyed the location (close to the Plaza) and the historic appeal. Our room was
very comfortable and homey. The afternoon snacks and the beautiful breakfast were appreciated. Such an interesting inn and so much more than the usual hotel experience. We felt
like we were staying at a friend's home. Hope to go back! We highly recommend Inn on La Loma to anyone visiting Taos. Tom and Marcia from Missouri

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in the Anasazi Penthouse Suite because it is air conditioned (we didn't use the air conditioning, though!). It is a pretty suite with a big bathroom a, big tub, and a very big shower. There's a small refrigerator in the room which is stocked with water and a few soft drinks. The daily maid service was very nice. Breakfast was nice. There was fresh fruit, cereals, juices, etc., and there was always something hot that was plated and brought to your table if you wanted it. I think it would be nice to have a fire going in the lobby, but they don't have them in the summer, even on cool evenings. The grounds are small, but very beautiful with green grass, flowers, and tall trees. It is a short walk to the historic Plaza. I'd read on here that it was an uphill walk...it was actually more of an incline than a hill. Only those that are very out of shape would have a hard time with the walk.

Room Tip: The Anasazi is a newly-built addition with air conditioning; if you don't require the AC, you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiela-Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Inn on La Loma is a beautiful inn with so much charm paired with great history. Upon arrival Jerry Davis was so welcoming and friendly. We stayed in Carey's Studio which was absolutely perfect and breakfast every morning was always impressive. I recommend this place to anyone looking to stay within walking distance to everything and also being surrounded by such great history. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Carey's studio is its own little apartment. Kitchen, living area, and great view of the Taos Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Inn for two nights and had a wonderful experience. We had originally booked the Taos Pueblo Room, but when we arrived, Peggy (the Inn Keeper) offered us a complimentary upgrade to stay in the Anasazi Penthouse Suite. She let us look at both rooms and decide which we wanted. Both of the rooms are in a new addition to the Inn, and were just lovely. The Anasazi was upstairs and larger, so we went with that one, and we were so happy with it! It has two fire places, and a separate living area. The bed was super comfy, and the shower and tub were amazing. The tub was a nice jetted tub, and the shower was like a whole room, with several rain fixtures on the ceiling and lots of body sprays. The balcony was small but nice none the less. The breakfast in the morning was very good too, and they set out snacks and drinks in the afternoon. They Inn Keepers were helpful to book reservations for us as well. I'd definitely recommend the Inn. However, I did not see any of the original rooms (those not a part of the newly built addition) so I can't speak to the quality of those accommodations. The website notes "new rooms" so maybe shoot for one of those.

Room Tip: The Taos Pueblo Room or the Anasazi Penthouse Suite were both awesome! There was no street noise, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mallory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The La Loma is a great place to stay for a few days. The Inn is close to the town plaza and the grounds are beautiful - nice just to sit and enjoy. Our room was upgraded when we arrived - room 22 - it was great! There were snacks in the afternoon and we had the continental breakfast in the morning. Jerry was so helpful with suggestions and dinner reservations. Sorry we had only one night there, would love to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
536 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palacio de Marquesa
Palacio de Marquesa
#7 of 23 in Taos
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on La Loma Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on La Loma Plaza

Address: 315 Ranchitos Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £119 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on La Loma Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on La Loma Plaza is an historic Taos landmark located near the downtown Plaza providing intimate and luxurious accommodations. Sequestered behind high adobe walls, the Inn has expansive grounds, towering trees, and commanding mountain views. The spacious guest areas feature high ceilings, fountains, green plants and quiet corners. Most rooms have private patios or decks, sitting areas in front of the wood-burning fireplace, mountain views and include a full breakfast. One-bedroom studios, one and two-bedroom suites with kitchenettes are also available. AAA Four-Diamond rated for twelve years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn on La Loma Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On La Loma Hotel Taos
Inn On La Loma Plaza Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing