We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Buildings and Grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville AL USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Buildings and Grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Beautiful buildings and grounds worthy of Better Homes and Gardens. We upgraded to the suite room. Wow! What a bath. A deep long tub. Problem was that there were 3 steps up to the rim and none down. You have to hold onto what looks like a stripper pole to step down about 30 inches. Another problem is that the toilet kept filling with water about every 10 minutes. I'm a light sleeper so it kept me awake. We notifed the front desk but after two days nothing had been done. And while speaking of the bathroom, a quality two ply toilet paper would have been welcome rather that single ply from the lowest bidder.
There was gas firplace in the living room area that was controlled by a timer. Very nice. Also a balcony that overlooked a pond and man made stream. Cool! We walked the grounds and it reminded us of a botanical garden. We ate breakfast and dinner on time each. Satisfied with the food and price, except the milk my wife ordered was soured. Yuk! We did use the pool and found it very enjoyable. The jaccuzi jets were strong and the water warm to hot. Ahh!
All in all we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose one that does not have a leaky toilet that keeps running! And one with a balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geodan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    251
    133
    77
    48
See reviews for
258
586
41
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I recently stayed here in one of the Native American Suites... It was beautiful! Every member of the staff made us feel completely welcome and were so nice. They wanted us to enjoy our stay and it was evident. The resort is very well maintained..beautiful grounds, peace and serenity in its finest! We enjoyed delicious margaritas with a wonderful bartender in the restaurant bar. He had so much personality and made a WONDERFUL top shelf margarita and I admit--we are margarita snobs! I highly recommend this place and look forward to returning!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We also found this hotel disappointing. Some of the staff were helpful, but the reception staff had an attitude. The nickel and diming was obnoxious. We were glad they did not charge us for the lighting in the room, since it was so poor, especially near the refrig and coffee maker. But, there was enough light to see the coffee maker was antique for a "luxury" hotel and dirty. The Best Western near the airport gave free water, internet and parking, while El Monte charged for each. At least we had a AAA package that included free breakfast. At the time of reservation, they asked if this was a special occasion and it was (our 25th anniversary). Even though they asked, they did nothing about it. Management should better manage this place.

, which this The focus was the jacuzzi. rather garish in its appointments. But then again, if you are into horsehair upholstery and leather, the decor might appeal to you. With a Jacuzzi taking center stage, our room seemed more geared toward honeymooners. The hotel is well-located in a quiet area about a five-minute drive to the historic Plaza area. This is a Marriot-owned property. We found the staff efficient but not particularly warm or helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ldb908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We found this hotel rather garish in its appointments. But then again, if you are into horsehair upholstery and leather, the decor might appeal to you. With a Jacuzzi taking center stage, our room seemed more geared toward honeymooners. The hotel is well-located in a quiet area about a five-minute drive to the historic Plaza area. This is a Marriot-owned property. We found the staff efficient but not particularly warm or helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gardendreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is in need of new management. since they are owned by Marriott, they should consider coming out to teach them how to run a hotel. We stayed there recently to celebrate my husband;s birthday. The first room we were given had a broken compressor in the AC and was extremely hot. We were told we would need to move to another room, and then move again the next morning. I pushed back and we were finally given an "upgrade" to a suite. The layout of the suite was odd and very broken up. We really preferred the first room. Anyway, we were moved to the suite and then tried to have some quality time. The Bose stereo had dead batteries so again we found ourselves waiting for someone to come to the room to fix something. A real mood killer.
It was also interesting that they chose Friday night to run an extremely loud pressure washer near the kitchen. The noise went on for over an hour. There was a water leak in the front of the hotel that was not resolved the entire weekend. I asked about it and the valet just said it had been going on for days. Very contrary to their "mission" of not wasting water.
I read all of the other comments before making a reservation, so I should have expected a problem with either heat or AC, but I was hopeful because it looked so beautiful.I could not recommend this hotel. I got the feeling that they don't really care.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peggy2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

My partner and I are on one of our regular road trips in the USA. This hotel was highly recommended and does indeed sit in a beautiful location but two issues spoilt the stay. Firstly, it is ridiculous for a hotel of this quality to charge for wifi and parking. Secondly, the shower in room 12 is almost impossible to access and, when you do eventually climb in, the water pressure is poor.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent a night a this unique hotel and wish had stayed longer! Room are nicely decorated and ultra comfortable. Staff is extremely attentive and efficient. Shame didn't have time to check out Spa facilities. An excellent choice for a get away weekend! Already looking forward to returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avaotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
14.9 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing