We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was a very luxurious hotel. Each bathroom had a seperate bath and shower! The rooms were very modern and they also had fireplace. There were also houses that you could get, that were differnt country themes. We liked the hotel so much we canceled our reservation the first night and ate there. The hotel was about a 5 minute walk from there to downtown. Downtown was very nice. There was many shops, and alot of them had really good prices. But some were pretty expensive. Overall, this was the nicest hotel we stayed at on our trip to New Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanlovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    262
    137
    79
    49
See reviews for
270
606
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We loved this hotel. It was designed to make you feel pampered. The style is southwestern/mission style. Every thing about it was given great thought: the choice of light fixtures, the furniture. Our room had a bathroom that was as big as many hotel rooms. It had a large whirlpool. The shower was separate and even the toilet was in its own separate room. Our room also had a gas fireplace and a nice balcony. We had planned on exploring Taos when we arrived but our kids were so excited by the hotel that they begged us to postpone the sightseeing a bit so they could enjoy the hotel. The pool area is very impressive. It is indoors but it has the feel of a green house. We ate lunch out on the patio. the food was very good. We had made reservations at a restaurant downtown but we decided to stay and eat at the hotel. My husband had the elk and said it was the best he ever had. I had a New York Strip which was also excellent. The service at the restaurant is a little slow we didn't mind for dinner but it was also slow for breakfast. Our rate had included breakfast for 2. As we walked around the hotel we came across an area of suites. One of the doors was open and we asked the housekeeper if we could look around. All of the suites are named after countries. We saw China. It was decorated in accordance with its name and I guess all of the suites are. Very nice. Overall a very luxurious stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here in July. We had 6 in our group so we stayed in one of their King rooms and had some of our group in a Double. Both were great rooms with private patios opening onto a serene grassy/ flower area. Rooms were of the Bohemian group of Marriott so they were very nice (one room missing wine & not neatly cleaned which is a turn off for me). Then we moved into one of the International casitas. These are gorgeous! Private small patio homes with Spanish privacy walls & water treats such as fountains and ponds etc. these had two bedrooms & 2 baths, large living rm & dining table, bar, fireplace(ours was China) which was a little off being in Taos! But they were gorgeously appointmented. I loved the really private patio area with adobe walls. Pricey!
The pool is gorgeous. The dining room is very nice & we had three evening meals that were delicious. Last night was. Bummer. Waitress didn't tell me they didn't have lasagne until she was SERVING everyone else! Then she forgot two other things. That was not good. But overall if you really want a beautiful place to stay in Taos that is memorable thus is it!!

Room Tip: Depending on your budget. There are rooms that are on the far edge that are great and less expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights with El Monte. We paid $450 for one night and $350 for the second night for the same room. The facilities were ok, the service was friendly enough. Having stayed at many, many other hotel rooms in this price range all over the world -- as well as in New Mexico such as The Inn of the Five Graces at Santa Fe for $500 (incredible inn/hotel, see review), this place was horribly overpriced and nickel and dimes clients -- such as charging an extra $3 to bring forks to our room, $12 for each night for parking (to park your own car in their lot) ...such fees added an extra $400 to our bill. Avoid and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lidy1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and our two teen sons were trying to escape from the Oklahoma triple digit temperatures recently and get in some last minute family time before they went back to school. We found this hotel on TA. From what we saw and experienced it was the nicest in Taos yet still gave us the outdoorsy/lodge feel of Northern NM. This place was a perfect fit with modern lodge decor, eco friendly landscaping, upscale food and dining and a glorious SPA....yet from our patio we felt like we were in the mountains. We really enjoyed being able to sit outside and enjoy the evening thunderstorms with a fresh scent from all the sage and various trees and shrubbery surrounding our patio. Take the time to walk around and enjoy the immaculately kept grounds, fountains, ponds as they are unique and gorgeous. We were a close walk .05 miles into town and 30 minutes to Taos Ski Valley. We ate at the restaurant one night and ordered food to go another night. I have saved those comments for the restaurant review of De La Tierra..it was pretty good one night and excellent the other. ELK Tenderloin is a must try! The wine and cocktail menu are very good, go for the cucumber and jalapeno margarita...tasty. The service at the bar was excellent with well made drinks. The beds were very comfortable with a few pillow options. Here are a couple things you should know before you go. They do accept pets!! and have a few plastic bag dispensers around so you can easily clean up after your furry kid. There is a fridge in the room but there are no vending machines nor do they sell beverages in the gift shop/gallery, so you may want to stop and pick up some beverages to stock your fridge...especially if you have kids. You can order drinks from the bar...it would just be convenient to have them in your room. parking is the same $12 whether you valet or not. Parking is a commodity in Taos and most places we have traveled charge for parking it was no big deal to us. We were there the night of the Turquoise Ball and thought it was really cool to see the "society people of Taos" dressed up to support the museum...we didn't notice the noise and we were about 3 rooms down from the tent. The place was pretty quiet we thought considering it was almost completely booked when we arrived. Make sure you get by the natural water pool and take advantage of the spa..as you can use the steam room or sauna without purchasing a service. There is a couples room with a large tub you can rent...ooh, la, la...we hope to come back and do that next time. Here is the only problem we had with this place. It was a BIG problem for about 36 hours but when we finally were able to get the GM involved he resolved the problem quickly. We noticed two separate charges of over $300 before we even checked in...we thought it odd but.... We did make a change in the reservation on the second night so I am not sure if that had something to do with the next set of charges. Our check out sheet on Monday reflected accurate charges but what they charged our credit card online was more than double our stay and not accurate. I called them Tuesday and spoke to a man at the front desk who said he would call accounting and get right back to me....he never called me back. On Wednesday, I called again and a lady at the front desk said there were no inaccurate charges so I went back to check the credit card statement thinking maybe they had credited us but no.... they had charged us another $900...my husband was freaking out at this point because there were almost $2500 in charges on our CC. We finally got the GM to call us back that evening and by Thursday afternoon the over charges were removed to the correct amount. I don't believe these mistakes were intentional of course but I do think they have a problem or a kink to work out because I have noticed another comment about the billing. The problems are with booking because all the in-room and dining charges were accurate. We are pretty laid back and travel enough to know "these things happen, although not often" so this wouldn't stop us from recommending this place or returning...just be very careful to monitor the charges on your credit card even after you check out.

Room Tip: If you have the cash to splurge..try one of the themed rooms (Tibet, Karma) they were all booked whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheriejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Last minute side trip found us at el monte. We were blown away by the decor, suite size with private patio and hot tub. Salt water pool was fun for kids. The location was perfect, we parked our car and rode our bikes around town. The service was great from valet, to reception, to waiter (ask for Joaquin who even hooked us up with the head chef, Henry, who prepared 2 quarts of NM green chile to take back home). Everyone had a sincere desire to make you feel comfortable and welcome. I travel for business about 150 days a year and am fortunate enough to stay at some of the premier properties around the world. El monte has a place on my list of favorites. We will be back

Room Tip: If traveling w family get a suite (china, morroco, Texas). 2 en suite masters adjoined by large fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mglmstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Crest, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you are looking for a quiet hotel, this is not the place. We checked in and saw a hospitality tent in the green space no more than 20 feet just outside our door. On Saturday night the hotel hosted an event and let the band play until 10pm such that you could not sleep or talk in your guest room until after 10pm. When questioned the general manager had no valid reason for allowing this to happen other than we host this event every year.

If you find this type of thing disturbing call the hotel first to find if they have an outdoor event scheduled during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
612 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing