We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this our Go-To Place in Taos?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado City, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Is this our Go-To Place in Taos?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Ever since the Fechin closed, we have been seeking the next-best place to stay in Toas. We have stayed at a number of B&bs and motels, but nothing seemed to fit. We believe we have found nirvana again at El Monte Sagrado. We have always yearned to stay at EMS, but until it became a Marriott property, we were not able to justify the rates.
Now, however, we feel it is a good value for what you get. We spent two nights, 11.2 and 11.3. These dates coincided with the Dixon Studio Tour. Our rate was about $170 night, in a regular motel room (not a casita).
We liked the large room with a slider to a beautiful grass courtyard. The huge bath contained a spacious soaking tub and shower. The bath had a half-door that opened into the room. The beds were very comfortable. Included was Starbuck's coffee in the room, fridge, robes, etc., all good quality. The staff was super friendly and professional.
But what truly sets EMS apart is the concept. The entire vibe of the property is rejuvenation. There are plants everywhere, indoors and out, and watersounds seem to be everywhere to sooth. Also, therapeutic massage is available onsite, and the practitioners are highly skilled, as Maggie can attest.
The warm pool (indoor) had three different temperature zones, and the fitness room was adequate and up to date.
What we didn't think was perfect was the restaurant. The food was decent, but not special. Taos has great food within walking distance, so not a problem. We also aren't big fans of valet parking. $12 dollars a night to take your vehicle and move it twenty yards to a parking lot bugged us a little.
But, we will be excited to stay at El Monte Sagrado the next time we hit Taos.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    251
    133
    77
    48
See reviews for
256
586
41
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Drove up to Taos just for overnight and it wouldn't have been as fabulous a trip as it was if we had stayed anywhere else!

Classy, Classic, Contemporary, Casual. Staff was incredible - they all got together to plan our afternoon and next morning, each contributing their own ideas!

Room was SOOOO comfortable and the bathroom - well, it made me want to run home and remodel mine!

Thank you, El Monte Sagrado, for a wonderful stay and we can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Native American suite if you can. Worth the $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbqBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We moved here after being very disappointed with the Hampton Inn. El Monte a luxury hotel (now Marriott owned) that is absolutely beautiful. The setting is so pretty. The jacuzzi and two adjoining pools with neat stonework were very nice. We got a AAA rate. I noticed other reviews mentioned a $12 parking fee and resort fee. Our final bill just notes the package rate, which included breakfast, and the lodging and room tax, although the valet did mention that there is a $12 parking fee (even if the valet is not used). It's a bit of a walk, about a 1/2 mile into town. I'm not posting photos, but I would recommend looking at them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our two-night stay at El Monte was a decision based on the government closure of the national parks, Carlsbad Caverns in particular, with a stay in Carlsbad, which we had to cancel. The reservations at El Monte were made by phone the day preceding our arrival.

The physical plant and site are gorgeous, and we found the staff to be welcoming, friendly, and helpful. We used the hotel shuttle service to an off-site restaurant and were pleased. Our exceptionally large bathroom was missing a hairdryer, which I discovered upon exiting our shower, but a call to guest services rectified that situation in less than five minutes.

I would like to single out and praise Cole who checked us in. He was very hospitable and polite and subsequently gave me a tour of the stunning artwork on display at the hotel, which was a treat!

The only quirky occurrence was at dinner in the restaurant. My DH and I split a salad (in addition to each of us having individual entrees). We were absolutely flabbergasted that there was a extra plate charge for splitting the $8 salad! No extra plate charge was mentioned in the menu.

Other than that, there was nothing to complain about, and I almost forgot to rave about the steel-cut oatmeal at breakfast, which was divine!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the least expensive rooms, which was very large and very much enjoyed, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schwerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in a suite with our 2 year old daughter. The staff was extremely helpful and professional. The suite had a nice Southwestern feel to it. The bathroom was a little dated and could probably use a little maintenance. The grounds are beautiful. I am looking forward to coming back here as a couple and spend some more time exploring the area and enjoying the spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Reading the other reviews, lead us here. I will acknowledge the grounds are spectacular. It has a graceful peaceful feeling. The valet staff was very welcoming. The resort offers a shuttle service to the town center. On first glance, the room was lovely. Our room had a large jucuzzi tub, a nice fireplace, and wood beams on the ceiling. We quickly dropped our bags and left to explore the
galleries of Taos. We returned in the evening exhausted, wanting a nice place to relax and unwind. Within a few minutes we noticed a strange fragrance in the room as if to hide a bad odor. In the toilet room, we noticed water had damaged the wall and there was a distinct smell of mold. Half of the bed was sunken, they need to replace the mattress. It could just be this one room, 408. Avoid the room. With all resorts, there seem to be hidden or over the top charges but we
had to pay for each device on the internet and the speed was really slow. We haven't yet decided if we would give El Monte another try.

Room Tip: Don't choose 408. Water damage and a mold issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arippleeffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
304 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for a week on vacation in the late summer. This is one of very few top-drawer hotel/resorts in the Marriott Autograph Collection. Truly beautiful in a rustic style. We stayed in a lovely suite with a view of their garden and pond, which is also the raison d'etre for this hotel in the first place. The pond and fountain is part of a uniquely designed water reclamation and recycling project by the original hotel architect. Our room had a large comfortable king-size bed and the sitting-room had a sofa and gas-fireplace. It was just cool enough in the evenings to enjoy the fireplace and we did. Furnishings inside the room are very nice and upscale with a rustic feel.

The grounds and the hotel are immaculate and overall we enjoyed our stay immensely. During our stay there was some kind of problem with the water heater that supplied the row of rooms where we stayed that took the maintenance team 1.5 days to get fixed. I did speak to the manager and he accommodated by taking some fees off of our bill.

The bathroom was large with a tub/shower that was also very large. But, you literally had to step-up (or should I say climb-up) over the side of the large tub on built-in steps and hold onto a vertical grab bar to hoist yourself into the tub. That was a bit strange and awkward and clearly not meant for anyone with any kind of physical limitation or disability.

Their restaurant is excellent - steaks, chops and home made style mac-n-cheese with BACON, what could be bad.

The indoor pool was nice and with great views of the outdoor pond and fountain, we felt like we were outdoors, while inside.

The hotel is fairly expensive but I felt worth the splurge. One thing I really didn't like was that they charged a daily fee for parking - kind of ticky-tacky for a hotel of this quality and price.

If you are planning on being in the Taos, NM area, this hotel is a great choice. I would book it if I were going back to Taos.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the pond and fountain/waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corptool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
14.9 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing