We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome from the minute we valet parked”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome from the minute we valet parked”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

From the moment we met the first staff member, Victoria, who parked our car we were enchanted with El Monte. The service is impeccable. We were upgraded to a better room when I messed up the reservation. The pool is beautiful. We ate at the restaurant one night and the waiter seemed a little annoyed at first but warmed up. The food was really good. We shared a steak. The property is pretty and serene. Victoria was a wealth of information and could give lessons on service. One way we woke up to a chilly morning, When we called for the car we left our room to find the car waiting for us and the frost scrapped from the windows. This was indicative of the type of service we got. The only negative was I left a note and tip for the housekeeper to leave extra sugar and cream for our coffee. We not only didn't have extra we did have any. Other than this small blip the stay was awesome. The accommodations were comfortable, the suite was beautiful and well appointed and most important to me, clean!

Room Tip: We loved our suite that had a pack patio on the Sacred Circle. Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXDiva2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    255
    134
    79
    48
See reviews for
266
596
42
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just got home from a stay in Taos at El Monte Sagrado it is truly Amazing in many ways. We realized we left the iPad in the room so I called to see if by chance it was turned in - Thank You Alicia for turning in the iPad - Thank you Lucia for being so nice when I called and Thank you Jolene for calling me back to let me know when the iPad would be headed home by FedEx. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The rooms large and very comfortable. The dinning was a delightful experience and the food was excellent. The young lady who waited on us knew the wine and menu. We questioned her about different items and she guided us in our choices. There was a nice selections of items to choose from and everyone was very happy with their choice. All the staff was friendly and helpful. I recommend it as "the place to stay in Taos" and we will be back!
Thanks again Alicia, Lucia, Jolene and the rest of the staff - perfect trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 868ALW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you love the style of the southwest, you'll find this hotel in Taos amazing. It's a beautiful resort complex with a friendly, southwest attitude. Probably one of the finest hotels in the Taos area. 3-4 min walk from the main tourist sites in Taos. Very romantic!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTravelGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado City, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Ever since the Fechin closed, we have been seeking the next-best place to stay in Toas. We have stayed at a number of B&bs and motels, but nothing seemed to fit. We believe we have found nirvana again at El Monte Sagrado. We have always yearned to stay at EMS, but until it became a Marriott property, we were not able to justify the rates.
Now, however, we feel it is a good value for what you get. We spent two nights, 11.2 and 11.3. These dates coincided with the Dixon Studio Tour. Our rate was about $170 night, in a regular motel room (not a casita).
We liked the large room with a slider to a beautiful grass courtyard. The huge bath contained a spacious soaking tub and shower. The bath had a half-door that opened into the room. The beds were very comfortable. Included was Starbuck's coffee in the room, fridge, robes, etc., all good quality. The staff was super friendly and professional.
But what truly sets EMS apart is the concept. The entire vibe of the property is rejuvenation. There are plants everywhere, indoors and out, and watersounds seem to be everywhere to sooth. Also, therapeutic massage is available onsite, and the practitioners are highly skilled, as Maggie can attest.
The warm pool (indoor) had three different temperature zones, and the fitness room was adequate and up to date.
What we didn't think was perfect was the restaurant. The food was decent, but not special. Taos has great food within walking distance, so not a problem. We also aren't big fans of valet parking. $12 dollars a night to take your vehicle and move it twenty yards to a parking lot bugged us a little.
But, we will be excited to stay at El Monte Sagrado the next time we hit Taos.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Drove up to Taos just for overnight and it wouldn't have been as fabulous a trip as it was if we had stayed anywhere else!

Classy, Classic, Contemporary, Casual. Staff was incredible - they all got together to plan our afternoon and next morning, each contributing their own ideas!

Room was SOOOO comfortable and the bathroom - well, it made me want to run home and remodel mine!

Thank you, El Monte Sagrado, for a wonderful stay and we can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Native American suite if you can. Worth the $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbqBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We moved here after being very disappointed with the Hampton Inn. El Monte a luxury hotel (now Marriott owned) that is absolutely beautiful. The setting is so pretty. The jacuzzi and two adjoining pools with neat stonework were very nice. We got a AAA rate. I noticed other reviews mentioned a $12 parking fee and resort fee. Our final bill just notes the package rate, which included breakfast, and the lodging and room tax, although the valet did mention that there is a $12 parking fee (even if the valet is not used). It's a bit of a walk, about a 1/2 mile into town. I'm not posting photos, but I would recommend looking at them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our two-night stay at El Monte was a decision based on the government closure of the national parks, Carlsbad Caverns in particular, with a stay in Carlsbad, which we had to cancel. The reservations at El Monte were made by phone the day preceding our arrival.

The physical plant and site are gorgeous, and we found the staff to be welcoming, friendly, and helpful. We used the hotel shuttle service to an off-site restaurant and were pleased. Our exceptionally large bathroom was missing a hairdryer, which I discovered upon exiting our shower, but a call to guest services rectified that situation in less than five minutes.

I would like to single out and praise Cole who checked us in. He was very hospitable and polite and subsequently gave me a tour of the stunning artwork on display at the hotel, which was a treat!

The only quirky occurrence was at dinner in the restaurant. My DH and I split a salad (in addition to each of us having individual entrees). We were absolutely flabbergasted that there was a extra plate charge for splitting the $8 salad! No extra plate charge was mentioned in the menu.

Other than that, there was nothing to complain about, and I almost forgot to rave about the steel-cut oatmeal at breakfast, which was divine!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the least expensive rooms, which was very large and very much enjoyed, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schwerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
14.9 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing