We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Monte Sagrado
Nearby Hotels
Sagebrush Inn & Suites(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Taos Inn(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fonda de Taos(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Rio(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,280)
Filter reviews
1,280 results
Traveller rating
706
288
146
87
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
706
288
146
87
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet staffnative american suitesglobal suitewater featuresbeautiful resortspa servicesde laper daysteam roomshuttle servicetaos mountain roomgas fireplacesoaking tubindoor poolnew mexicoliving roommountain view
Filter
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 1,280 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived two hours ahead of the "check-in" time on Thursday, July 3. My husband is a Premier Marriott member. Kessler Properties just uses Marriott to get bookings. Marriott should do themselves a favor and send someone out to look at this property. As a previous reviewer noted in their review, room was dirty - linens we discovered later had not been changed - and it was late when we arrived back after dinner when we found it, garden area looked like it hadn't seen a broom in months. Lots of dead insects on the floor and we had an ant in the bed. The back enclosed garden area would have been nice to sit in except that there were two large piles of dog poop. We requested Chris at the front to address the linens and the dog poop as we left July 4th morning. When we got back the linens were changed but the dog poop still there. Still dead insects on floor. The entire suite requires a deep cleaning. Sad condition of the Kama Sutra foiled any romantic plans we may have thought about. It was plain icky. So-so restaurant on premises. We won't be staying at any other Marriott / Kessler property anywhere. This is a black eye for Marriott standards.

Room Tip: Try perhaps a suite or another place.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlg8704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Obviously the issues you encountered are not acceptable and do not meet our standards. We are working to improve training and inspection procedures to ensure this does not happen again. I offer our sincerest apologies for what should have been a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Global Suite and it magnificent! The living room was nice and cozy and the two bedrooms were perfect for our family. It was nice to have a feeling of another country. There was a minor problem of the hot tub not heating and the doors not locking, but the hotel staff is quick to fix the problem as soon as you report it. The staff is friendly, and service is amazing. This hotel is one of the bets hotels me and my family have been in.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ShyAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We were able to check in early and were greeted by a very cordial and professional valet, Matthew. The check in was uneventful however upon entering the Tibet Suite, there was dirt and stuff on the floor, a bag of trash, the air conditioner was at 80, and the bedding had not been changed. The refrigerator was unplugged. After calling guest services, housekeeping and maintenence personnel appeared almost immediately. Nearly an hour later, the room has cooled a degree to 79. The suite offers a private garden area that is of nice size but has few living plants. Lots of debris. It appears that there was once a water feature but it hasn't been that in a while. The space looks like the yard of a house that has been vacant for some time. Sad. Fortunately the ambient air temperature was pleasantly, thanks to the arrival of the monsoon season. We'll see how the rest of the visit goes. 90 minutes into the stay and no follow - up from management.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank aliciawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry for the condition you found your room in at check in. This is being addressed with our team. The "water feature" you mentioned is actually an "acequia" (irrigation canal) which dates back hundreds of years. These were built by the Spanish to irrigate farm land. Regulations require they remain in tact when the land they cross is developed in case those down stream with water rights request water. This one is rarely used but it is there by law and not as an attraction for our guests. We do not control the water flowing through it. We hope you allow us an opportunity to serve you again properly on your next visit to Taos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed there with family for 2 nights. Beautiful rooms, friendly staff. Indoor pool / hot tub was great after hiking the nearby Carson National Forest. Anaconda Bar is very cool, the food was very good.

They have a courtyard off of the convention center with picnic tables and a stunning view of the mountains. There is a fire pit there and we had a nice time socializing around the fire pit.

Room Tip: I heard the original villas are great but I did not know to ask for them when we made reservations. This place is pet friendly
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in late June on our tour of New Mexico. Beautiful serene setting. We had a two bedroom suite and we loved it! Gas fireplace kiva in living room. Heated floors in both bedrooms! Perfect on those cool New Mexico nights. The indoor pool and hot tub were very nice. Food was very good. Easy walk into Taos. They also take you within 3 miles of the resort (which is just about anywhere in Taos). Did white water rafting and hiking while there. All was great. Visit to Taos Pueblo was also worth the time. Looked to us like the best place to stay in Taos. The other places looked more like older motels.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank irene363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews