We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay in 2 Bedroom Global "Spain" Suite”
Review of El Monte Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay in 2 Bedroom Global "Spain" Suite”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I booked a 3 night stay (Sunday-Wednesday) for a premier suite using Marriott Rewards Points plus money and was extremely pleased when my husband and I were upgraded to the 2 bedroom global “Spain” suite. Room upgrades are something Gold/Premier Elite members cannot always count on, but when they happen (especially at a fantastic place like El Monte Sagrado), visitors start valuing their Elite status and loyalty to Marriott.

The moment I first entered the global “Spain” suite, I knew it would earn a spot on my top 3 favorite places to stay. The suite offered unique decor, two bedrooms, two full baths with gorgeous tile work, ample lighting options (including dimmers), high beamed ceilings, and a private walled patio that wrapped around one half of the suite. Best of all, it only shared a small part of a wall — in the guest room — with the neighboring global suite. Other than that, there were no neighbors to the top, bottom, or other sides, and we had a very peaceful and quiet stay. The trouble was, I wanted to spend all of my time at my suite and large private patio instead of sightseeing around the Taos area.

Room recommendation: for those who value private outdoor space, I’d recommend avoiding the first floor southeastern-facing Taos Mountain Rooms. There is a path leading to and from the parking lot that skirts these units, and people on the lower floor patios are in full view of people using the path. The second floor decks don’t offer much more privacy, but probably have better views.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeSomethingNew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    260
    136
    79
    49
See reviews for
269
602
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for three days and just wish it could have been more. Luxe facilities, fabulous staff, gorgeous and restful grounds. Could not have been better, and considering what was offered, a very reasonable price. We would do this again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
Green Features: They make a point of green practices; all water is recycled, planting are complementary, food is locally sourced, artwork is local, materials are authentic.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouMSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at El Monte Sagrado and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds are beautiful, with water features everywhere. It was very relaxing and it felt like we were there for much longer than two days.We stayed in their standard king, which is anything but standard! We had a beautiful view of a grassy courtyard that was very well maintained with trees and flowering shrubs. The room itself had a soaking tub for two that situated between the bathroom and the bedroom. The bathroom was huge, and also had a shower.
The staff was very friendly. I would recommend dinner only once. The menu is not very extensive but we did find something the first nite. We dined in Taos the next night, at Martyr's. I would highly recommend! Very nice patio dining and great food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annanddanbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the El Monte Sagrado over the weekend while visiting Taos with my son. The Bell staff were friendly and attentive. The front desk was extremely short staffed and the check in time was very long. The rooms were spacious and very nicely appointed. The property was very attractive. The description of a room as a mountain view room was very exaggerated as we were able to see only the tip of one mountain top. The restaurant was excellent though in the morning they would not credit my platinum elite breakfast coupons toward a complete breakfast. Internet access was extremely slow . It was a very short walk to the plaza (restaurants and shopping). My greatest disappointment at this property was the fact that that they ruined a pair of my slacks in their laundry and did not compensate me for them. I have over 1500 stays with marriott and have never had a pair of my dress slacks laundered improperly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank al h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for making us aware of your issues. I am investigating the situation with your pants and would appreciate if you could contact me with more information. We send our dry cleaning out to a local vendor and can seek reimbursment from them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wow! What a beautiful hotel. The rooms are spacious and very luxurious. The valet parking good and the parkers really friendly.
The food in the hotel is delicous. If you're hungry, try the breakfast burrito. It is huge! :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythewood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was floored by the breathtaking rooms, until I opened the shower and found lumps of hair from a previous guest! For the amount of money that is paid to stay at this hotel it should have been immaculate! I was there for 4 days and all we kept hearing was excuses. It took us 30 minutes to get breakfast and we were only one of two occupied tables in the restaurant. The icing on the cake was when we spotted a mouse in the breakfast room! It would have been a wonderful experience if the staff was more professional. I shouldn't have to listen to all of the excuses of why things haven't been done. The price for parking is ridiculous. We ended up parking our own car and had a $20 valet charge each day. Wifi should have been free, $15 a day isn't worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni29229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Our sincerest apologies. We have been hiring and training numerous new team members to ensure your next stay meets our high standards. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 10 days at El Monte Sagrado, visiting friends from Taos Pueblo we haven't seen in over 30 years. We have never had a better experience at a hotel (We've never stayed at a resort before!) Beautiful grounds, sweet and earnest staff, tremendous service, honorable business dealings, helpful and informative all the way around. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We're from Seattle, and have never had such an all-around experience. We're relaxed, we're in a Taos state of mind! Great pool facilities, great spa, excellent restaurant. Most important, any issues or concerns we had were dealt with immediately, maturely, efficiently and with graciousness. We could never have asked for anything more. We highly recommend El Monte Segrado!!

The valets were the most informative, friendy, generous staff we have ever met. All of the staff, no matter what their role, were friendly, helpful, took responsibility for the entire resort, were courteous, well-trained, conversational, earnest andd proud. Just fantastic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We stayed in the "Native American" rooms...charming, well-decorat...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly. The entire community of Taos resonates with the Taos Pueblo traditions and culture of respect for the earth and nature.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donuslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado

Property: El Monte Sagrado
Address: 317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Monte Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing