We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool view, a bit far outside of town”

Rio Grande Gorge Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cool view, a bit far outside of town”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Spans a gorge at 650 feet above the bottom. Beautiful views and fun to look down into the canyon. About 15 minutes outside of town. Worth a stop if you have time. A nice collection of vendors were set up near the bridge selling chiles, jewelry, pottery, etc.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank g0mntwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,454
    766
    169
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I know this bridge”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Actually, I grew up in Taos so I am a little biased about the gorge bridge. One of the engineers who worked on the project used to drive me out there from time to time during its construction. I was always excited to see the progress and marvel at the views of the gorge. The summer after the bridge was completed a friend of mine and I climbed down to the east pylons. DO NOT DO THIS!! The loose scree made it nearly impossible to climb back up. The bridge is built on a kind of roller system to account for the expansion and contraction of the materials due to cold and heat. So, when it shakes or moves a little, it is unnerving but safe. I highly recommend the trip out there even if you are afraid of heights. You can stand on the west side and get some good views without having to get to close to the edge or walk on the bridge. For locals and transport of goods it is not a bridge to nowhere. It saves hours of backtracking to Espanola to get to northwestern NM.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank DukeCityDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“great view !”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

If you are in the taos area, dont miss this. Its only 15-20 minutes drive from taos downtown. You need to park your car and walk onto the bridge. There are two viewing areas in the middle of the bridge. You will get a great view of the gorge. Its absolutely gorgeous.
In the parking area, there were local people selling homemade stuff. Its worth spending some time over there. You will get a nice rustic feel.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank nilotpalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I thought it was pretty cool. It doesn't take long and get's you out into the desert a bit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank jhart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“definitely worth the drive”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Spectacular views up and down stream, about 600 feet from the bridge to the Rio Grande. Great views of the mountains to the East. Go later in the day for best light.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Donald E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Grande Gorge Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Gorge Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing