We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food and Gorgeous Views”
Review of Shady Brook Cafe

Shady Brook Cafe
Ranked #82 of 130 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Southwestern, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Shady Brook Café is open for breakfast and lunch serving upscale continental cuisine using local, organic, fresh ingredients, yet priced affordably. Also served are gourmet coffee, fresh baked artisan bread and pastries, and homemade ice cream and sorbet. Vegetarian items are also available. Set among the tall pines of Taos Canyon, guests can enjoy outdoor dining on the patio or deck. Weekend events include fine dining and outdoor BBQ's with entertainment. Please visit our website to view our calendar of events.
Taos
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Food and Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My new favorite spot for Breakfast and Lunch is definitely Shady Brook Cafe. After staring down a menu loaded with great choices, I decided to order the "Western Burger". When the plate arrived at my table I knew I would be in for a treat and only a few minutes later I looked down at my empty plate and thought:

"That was the best Burger I have ever had in my life, period."

The cafe is nestled in a scenic wonderland offering a super relaxing setting to take in while enjoying the amazing food choices on the menu at Shady Brook Cafe.

Highly Recomend !!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Lovely people, lovely atmosphere, fantastic food! Impeccable service. Would go there again and again and again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksufan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly staff!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

At the Stoneybrook Cafe you will find terrific food served by a cheerful friendly staff. Start your day right at the Storybook Cafe!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canmom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

On the way to Taos, NM, we had not yet had breakfast, and it was almost 11:00a.m. There was the Shady Brook Inn and Cafe right by the side of the road. What a pleasure! A warm and welcoming server - I think she and her husband are the owners - good variety on the menu. The eggs benedict were delicious, and the coffee was more than drinkable with several refills offered. Definitely a good place to stop at any time of the day.

The decor included several outstanding pieces of pottery from Enchanted Circle Pottery, about six miles before the Cafe when coming from Angel Fire. We decided to drive back; and it was well worth it. Kevin and Jo Dekeuster produce world class wood-fired pottery and sculpture. Their welcome is warm; there is a tour of the kilns and the studio, and a lovely atmosphere to wander and see both the sculptures and the useful items such as dishes, wine glasses, tea pots, and more.

All in all, a wonderful way to spend a few hours - a meal at the Shady Brook Inn and Cafe and a visit to the Enchanted Circle Pottery (they don't have a web site, but their email is dekeusterclay@gmail.com, and they will send photos).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitisuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spend the last 2 days in Shady Brook, New Mexico and had the pleasure of eating at the Shady Brook Cafe twice. Both times the food was excellent and the service was unbelievable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KevinVickieGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shady Brook Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Shady Brook Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing