We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the high road!”

Ranked #7 of 96 things to do in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take the high road!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We took this for time and because locals said high road was slightly harder to navigate. I'd get a good map and do the high road next time. This road is fine if you're in a hurry but not very pretty and scruffy towns on the way. Good beef jerky stand at the end though!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BoulderArtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    101
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just a normal drive”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

After reading other reviews, I decided to take the low road to Taos. We had been driving a lot during our trip. So, I opted for the shorter route. This may have been a mistake. Other than a brief glimpse of the Rio Gorge, there nothing else to see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient and interesting”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The high road gets all of the credit, but we traveled north on this route and found it filled with beauty while offering the advantage of being a bit quicker. We took the high road back, and if I do it again, I would reverse that process. Take it slow and easy going up the high road, making all the little stops while your vacation still stretches out before you. On the low road, it will be easier to focus on getting to your plane/bus/train if it's the end of your trip, or you can stop for the sites and culture along the way, too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark,Delaware
Level Contributor
290 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Loved this”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed this so much! We spent time at Sanctuary de Chimayo and collected some of the special dirt from there. The Vistas were incredible!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meeta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the drive but not spectacular”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We took the low road from Sante Fe to Taos because we were told the High Road is best enjoyed North to South. For a good bit of the drive there is nothing interesting to see but coming up along side the Rio Grande at low elevation was nice and then seeing the gorge sprawl out to the left was beautiful. The Rio Grande Gorge visitor center on the low road is worth a short stop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcacciola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Low Road From Taos and Santa Fe also viewed

 

Been to The Low Road From Taos and Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing