We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice wine adviser and wait staff. Food. Blah.”

Doc Martin's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$28
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Grill, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bent Street
Description: Doc Martin's Restaurant is an acclaimed dining establishment located in a registered historic landmark. A Taos tradition for locals and visitors alike, the warm ambiance of Doc's has been a gathering place since the 1920s and 30s. Our menu is a presentation of New American and Northern New Mexican cuisine, specializing in fresh organic foods from the Southwest. Known for its incredible value and vast selections from old to new world, our wine list has earned Wine Spectator's "Best Of" Award of Excellence for twenty-nine consecutive years.
MEN-VER, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice wine adviser and wait staff. Food. Blah.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Food is mediocre at best and way too pricey for what is served. The service is good. Better to go to the hotel lobby and listen to live music. Desert is lousy. If you want a nice dinner, don't waste your time here.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheDenverDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    289
    131
    71
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pocomoke City, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

It was Christmas chaos and the place was booked to the gills as one of the few restaurants open for Christmas day dinner--we had to wait for prior customers who refused to leave the warmth and excellent dinner glow but we forgave them for lingering over their great dinner! I watched Zippy handle an extremely rude customer while we were waiting and marveled at his tolerance but twas Christmas after all and even curmudgeons need a little Christmas spirit! Bravo Zippy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindseysw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Scrumptious food, excellent service, good prices, and we had a blast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Three friends took me to Doc Martin's (in the Taos Inn) for my birthday. We all had the Thai Noodle Bowl -- a couple of us chose vegetarian, one had chicken, and I had the Scallops – we all loved it. Authentic Thai flavors and ingredients, top-quality scallops - huge and delicious. Pumpkin cheesecake was complementary and it was delicious. Even though the restaurant was crowded, the service was excellent and the food came out fast. The atmosphere is, as always, elegant, warm and cheerful. We love the Taos Inn and Doc Martin's -- it's a tradition, it's GOOD, and the price is right. We got out of there happy and satisfied for well under $100 for FOUR PEOPLE! Also, we were perfectly welcome to sit there and enjoy ourselves talking for TWO EXTRA HOURS, getting free coffee and tea refills constantly. Fantastic.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So Very Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We always enjoy the food at Doc Martin's whether it's breakfast in our favorite nook by the window, happy hour at the bar or lobby, or room service at the Taos Inn. The service is inconsistent--depending on who you get and how busy it is, it can range anywhere from excellent to very slow.

The Kit Carson is so, so delicious and my absolute favorite breakfast in Taos (check it out--their menus are posted online). I love to order it with green chile or "Christmas" (mix of red and green chile). The happy hour menu is also a good deal. The last time my husband and I had dinner here, we ordered tasty Elk burgers with sweet potato fries, which they delivered piping hot to our room at the Taos Inn.

But, my favorites here are always the desserts! There is nothing cozier on a cold, winter's evening than enjoying a glass of wine with their New Mexico Chocolate Creme Brulee and Autumn Delight Fruit Cobbler in the lobby surrounded by festive Christmas lights, great live music, and cheerful vacationers. The atmosphere and food all get five stars from me!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Skip it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

South-western hospitality and an embarrassed server couldn't make up for what lacked in our meals. While the elk burger is all the rave (pitched to tourists) don't be suckered in, It tastes like a mediocre hamburger. The red wine braised buffalo short ribs unfortunately were roasted (not braised) without salt or red wine and were greasy and tasteless. One person in our party dropped their glasses on the floor, needless to say trying to find them under the banquette was the farthest thing from appetizing. The dining room floor was just as filthy as the bathrooms.
Kitchen service was abominable with both the first course and the entrees emerging from the kitchen at the same time. The management did try to make up for the kitchen by offering us a complimentary dessert but with so many things wrong with the meal and service, it didn't begin to compensate.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doc Martin's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Doc Martin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing