We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same o sameo”

Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #6 of 128 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A family run restaurant and bakery in business for the past 37 years and still cooking! A menu of mouth-watering American and Spanish dishes, we serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert.
decatur,Tx.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Same o sameo”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I'm not impressed by Micheal's any longer. the food is okay, service has improved, but there's nothing new .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bennyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    350
    134
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Taos Staple for Good Food”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The breakfasts here cannot be beat. The food comes out almost instantly, is fresh and made with local ingredients. Get your fill here before hiking or skiing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarakay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Breakfast and Treats”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Michael attends to his guests with personal service and greeting- healthy and large servings- mix of Mexican and American dishes- filling, fresh and fun place!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nstheiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“The Best Place in Town for Breakfast....Don't Miss it!”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

If you are looking for a diner in Taos that has down home cooking coupled with New Mexican options then look no further! This wonderful spot is right on the main street in Taos on the Northern end of town. It frequently has lines out the door on weekends and holidays. Trust me it is worth the wait. They have enormous and delectable breakfast and baked goods. I cannot resist the breakfast offerings, even in the afternoons! They have green chili, red chili, biscuits and gravy, eggs every way possible, pancakes, homemade cinnamon rolls, donuts, fruit, and more. I honestly never order lunch because the breakfasts are just so good. Enjoy!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Castlerockmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Maybe the wrong day and time”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Maybe it was because it was so terribly busy, maybe the kitchen was swamped, or some other glitch, but we were not totally happy with Michaels last Sunday.
We arrived about 11 a.m., and maybe we should have had breakfast instead of lunch. The breakfasts still coming from the kitchen looked quite good, but our lunches were just o.k. The wifes beef and green chili sandwich was all bread, with a little bit of meat and green chili strips. The chili strips didn't even cover the sandwich.
I had the Philly, which was in a flour tortilla. The green chili bits were good and hot, but the beef had very little flavor, and for a philly, there wasn't any cheese. The fries we both had were just average.
Service was slow, but we didn't mind that, as the wait staff was really busy.
Maybe another day of the week would be better, and maybe staying with the breakfast menu would be the best idea if we return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing