We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated but maybe because choices are limited in Taos”

Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #7 of 130 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: A family run restaurant and bakery in business for the past 37 years and still cooking! A menu of mouth-watering American and Spanish dishes, we serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over Rated but maybe because choices are limited in Taos”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went for breakfast this morning, 7/15, lots of tables available. No sooner did we sit when the waitress asked if we were ready to order. Calm down lady get me some coffee first.

Food wasn't anything special and eggs not cooked as ordered. And of course no sooner than it looked like we were finished when she tried to rush us out. Geeez lady let me at least burp once or twice. There were empty tables and no line of people waiting to get in.

We took our time, left a generous tip (I'm just that way) and went on with doing Taos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    366
    140
    51
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great. Food. Even Better Bakery!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've been to Michael's before when in Taos and they don't disappoint. The baked goods are heavenly and very reasonably priced. We've had good breakfast and lunch here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MossFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, TX
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Words from a repeat customer”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife & I have eaten there several times for breakfast and lunch and will eat there again. This restaurant has been there for decades and has the reputation of being a favorite for "locals". We have had mixed success with lunches there but never experienced anything but satisfaction when ordering from the breakfast menu. There is a wonderful bakery in the middle of the restaurant from which you can order goodies while dining there or take them with you for snacking later.. Be sure and watch for the Cinnamon Rolls big enough to feed a squad of Marines. Off street parking next door.. Very reasonable prices. Can get really busy creating a wait for a table. Located just a few blocks north of the Plaza on the main North/South drag (west side of street).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ate here twice on our trip, excellent both times”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very good breakfast served here with fresh baked goods as well. Staff is very attentive, right there to fill your empty cup or glass. Food comes fast and is very tasty. Love the green chile but that is New Mexico and they do it good here. The vegetarian is the best. Nice amount of heat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must of been an off day”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Was told this was "THE" place to eat in Taos. Seriously??? Long line. Sticky table tops. Dishes were old and silverware was questionably clean. Maybe ordered the wrong thing?? Had a BLT on dry bread. Asked for extra crispy fries and got extra crispy bacon instead. One of us had Chips and salsa - chips were stale. All and all, one of the worst lunches I have had. Price was okay and service was good considering the crowd. I would not return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zabe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing