We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taos Diner

Taos Diner
Ranked #17 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aztec, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“its ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

service was strange. they seemed high, and slow at doing anything. The décor was creepy paintings. furniture was old could us some fixing or be replaced. Food was ok but not worth the high price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    97
    22
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice diner for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Ate at the south diner near the central plaza, arrived at 8:30 AM on Sunday and was seated right away. Nice sunny setting with lots of windows and an old fashioned diner feel. Very busy wait staff but service was good, all the ordering, serving and coffee refills were very timely by a charming waitress. Had a small wait for the food (~10 minutes) but it was spot on when it arrived. Standard breakfast fare for me; two fried eggs, fried potatoes and a biscuit along with a side of green chili. No surprises just good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PikesPeakWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I like to try local places. It's sometimes hit or miss. This was a definite hit. We came for a late lunch (1:30) and were thrilled to see that they serve breakfast all day. I had eggs with green chilis and a biscuit. The biscuit was like my southern mom used to make: flavorful, tender, and a bit crispy on the outside. The eggs were cooked perfectly. My husband had eggs with chirizo, which he said was great. The diner serves organic eggs.

Taos Diner is located on the main street in Taos. It has a funky diner feel and look, exactly what we were looking for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank imdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Comfort Food & Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I live in Taos, so I eat in Taos whenever possible to keep revenues local. This is one restaurant that we frequent so much everyone knows who we are and what we usually order. The food is outstanding! The owner buys from local organic farmers. I've seen her selectively pick from what they offer and only take the best. She offers gluten-free choices (YEA!) and the food is ALWAYS fresh and high quality. I've never had a bad meal there EVER. She provides local cuisine, great salads, burgers, sweet potato fries (YUM) and the regular kind...but the really GREAT meals are at breakfast! I recommend the Copper John breakfast - scrambled eggs with cheese and fresh green New Mexico chilis, potato wedges (I sub sweet potato fries), and a bread (I substitute grits). Great way to start the day. The pancakes look awesome and the bacon is to die for (thick, long, perfectly cooked). You GOTTA try this place. They close about mid-afternoon, so get breakfast and lunch (probably have to eat lunch another day because you'll still be REALLY full after eating breakfast there!). The service staff are wonderful. They are always smiling and I've NEVER had an incorrect order - even with all my substitutions. YOU HAVE TO CHECK THIS PLACE OUT WHEN IN TAOS....and the good news...she has a second restaurant in El Prado (north side of town) called Taos Diner 2. Bon appetit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BevyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife had breakfast at the Taos Dinner II, July 5th. She had French Toast, she may be the best she ever eat. That's a big complement, as she eat it everywhere she goes. I had a 3 egg omelet, it was huge, couldn't eat all of it. But it was very good. Great service, we will have breakfast there every time we are in Taos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taos Diner also viewed

 

Been to Taos Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing