We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broncos Fans Should always stop here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ricky's Restaurant

Ricky's Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 125 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Broncos Fans Should always stop here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were driving through Taos on our way back to Denver, and my husband pulled into Ricky's on a whim. We were so glad he did! Ricky's has great prices, fabulous food, and really amazing service! Ricky came out to greet us as soon as he saw my husband's Broncos shirt. The whole place is decorated in Broncos memorabilia, and you can really tell Ricky has put his heart and soul into this restaurant.
They went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed, and served the best Mexican food we had the whole trip through New Mexico. We will go back again any time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amboo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poncha Springs, CO
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simple, but good northern New Mexico food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Driving up Hwy 84 from Santa Fe, I stopped at this little restaurant, as it seemed to be one of the few opened on a sleepy Sunday evening in Taos. It has a nice local feel and the staff was very friendly. I ordered the enchilladas rancheros with red and green sauce, and everything was fresh and tasty. Counting the sopapillas and honey that accompanied the meal, it was almost more than I could eat and later that night I wished I’d asked for a doggie bag! Many of the menu items are taped along the walls in various places and there are some very creative and interesting hand drawings of Jesus here and there. I noticed that they also have a nice selection of breakfast items which they serve any time of day. I’d definitely eat there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John-David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Will go back to Taos just to go to Ricky's. Lol. A big Denver Broncos fan with blue and orange decor. Food was delicious. Red chili was the bomb. Waitress omitted the extra order of sopaipillas but made up for it by being genuinely friendly. No frills...don't need them. Great food. All four at the table will go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jj25Centennial_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Simply good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Ive only given this place a 3 but its a good 3. Really good, friendly service and good food. The lady serving us was very friendly and attentive. The place is quite small and the atmosphere is relaxed which i liked. This isnt the sort of place to have a posh evening meal but we had lunch there and it was just what the doctor ordered. I had burritos which i enjoyed and were hot and spicy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely our go-to place in Taos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Low key casual homemade goodness. Love love the chicken tacos made on the flat top. Don't be in a hurry when you come. It's a great place to linger. Great local colour.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tresmelindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ricky's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ricky's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing