We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ricky's”
Review of Ricky's Restaurant

Ricky's Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 128 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ricky's”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have loved going to Ricky's for years! I have followed this restaurant as it has moved around Taos. I love the Breakfast Burrito with Green Chile and Chorizo any time of the day. Fantastic Huevos Rancheros too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ebigsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Food was ok but was not authentic new mexico cousine, green Chile wasn't spicy enough. Very small and crowded place took long to get our dinner just two of us, the table next to us were a party of four and the got there after we did. parking was big enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great people and great food.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Travelling thru taos from Colorado, saw Denver broncos logo in window and wanted to check it out. Nice friendly people. Great food too. And they love the Denver broncos! Couldn't get any better than that! Go broncos! Love the people from taos. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katsudsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado City, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“True New Mexican”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Like the last reviewer we stopped at this restaurant for the shade for our two cats who been traveling too long and it was to early to check into our hotel. So we let them wander around the car while we went in and ate and WOW. Since that first time we have gone back and will next time in town. This place does not look like much but this food is just like what I ate while growing up. The green Chile is just that, green. The food is actually there so don't expect canned black beans.The amount of food they give you is a lot so you can take some with you. I recommend the stuffed sopapillas with green chile.
This place is not uptight, like so many fake New Mexican/Mexican food place in Taos that charge $10.00 for a taco. The staff takes life easy and are really nice. They do love their bronco's though... go there and see what I mean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahrose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just as promised...authentic.”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stopped at Ricky's because of the shade in the parking lot ( for our dog) and overall homey appearance. As promised, muy autentico. New Mexican style and the waitress honored our requests ( extra onion, heavy chile, light cheese, etc.) They offer Vegetarian chile, both red and green. This is not fast food; the wait was pleasant. Will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank gowithnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ricky's Restaurant also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Ricky's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing