We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
Review of Byzantium

Byzantium
Ranked #49 of 128 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went here on Father's Day...while there is no website for this restaurant, we had been able to see some past menus which peaked our interest. We arrived for our 6:30 reservation and were surprised that there was just one other table seated - once they left, we had the place to ourselves! The owner was attentive to our requests and allowed us to take our time between courses. The food was simply amazing - we started with mussels in an amazing wine sauce...we had to request more bread so we enjoy every last drop! Dinners included the Shrimp skewer from the appetizer menu, Pork Tenderloin with a pear sauce and the fresh fish selection...all were amazing! When we inquired about dessert, the owner graciously offered to make a chocolate truffle dish for the 4 of us...oh my, how good that was! I would recommend anyone try Byzantium when you are in Taos - excellent food with attentive service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    16
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Don't understand all the hoopla”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went expecting a wonderful dining experience somewhat based on the rating number. Very small, not many tables and only 2 people consisting of the chef and the server. Ordered salad which was maybe $9 and consisted of spinach with the stems still on for God's sake, a few pecans and other non memorable items. Our main courses were equally forgettable to the point that our adult daughter who is a foodie was very disappointed. As I looked at the reviews after the meal, I noticed that most of them were written by folks from Taos which logical since the restaurant is located there. It may also indicate a friends and family support group. Would not recommend going for the price you pay and what you get.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I am so glad I got to experience this restaurant!! Gracious dining from the moment you walk in the door. Nothing pretentious, but they could be, based on the superb food. Attentive, but not pushy. The salad and the dessert were delicious....I wanted to try everything on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cashelg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“over promise- under deliver”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had a high expectations due to the reviews but was sorely disappointed. Service was slow Even though there were only two people in the restaurant. There was no house Chardonnay your only selection Sauvignon blanc and Pinot Grigio. We ordered two glasses of wine at nine dollars a piece , the serving size was very stingy no more than 3 ounces. The entrées were the same, overpriced, mediocre and the serving size small. Won't be back.

Helpful?
4 Thank sky777pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this Intimate Spot on your Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Scott has a small but fabulous menu with a great wine list as well. Open for dinner only, and closed on Tuesday and Wednesday, so plan your trip on a night when Byzantium is open. You will be amazed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalityPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Byzantium also viewed

 
El Prado, Taos
 

Been to Byzantium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing