We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not on Monday??”
Review of Martyrs Steakhouse

Martyrs Steakhouse
Ranked #31 of 129 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: US$16 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Martyrs Lane
Description: Fine Dining Taos Style! We offer a wonderful selection of organic meats, locally grown salads, custom made desserts, and much more! Patio seating available. Large parties. Private party building. Catering.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Maybe not on Monday??”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is such a pretty restaurant. White walls, wood floors, beamed ceiling.
They touted their cocktail menu so we ordered one and a glass of wine. I think it took over 15 minutes to get the drinks to the table. That is just too long when the restaurant and patio are not even 1/4 full. Like I said... a Monday night.
We asked to have a bottle of wine decanted. And after about 15 minutes.... we were told they "couldn't find" the bottle we requested even though they kept telling us their inventory showed four.
So we ordered a different bottle. By now we are more than done with our cocktail and sparkling wine and midway through our appetizers. It still took quite a bit of time to get the newly ordered wine to the table and opened.
That being said. I truly enjoyed by Ceasar Salad. It was perfect. The filets were tender and delicious. The vegetables - a broccolini and carrot mixture were quite tasty. The snowy white decorative mounds of mash potatoes... rather flavorless but I guess that is why some people use lots of butter.
The service was earnest. They tried hard to please but it just did not rise to the occasion. But I would gladly give it another try, just on a different night of the week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PastaMom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    91
    29
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Steak! Great Experience”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I were on our way north after spending a few days in Santa Fe. We decided to stop in Taos for the night to explore the area. We discovered Martyrs in a hotel tourist magazine and were extremely pleased with everything! The ambiance and the service were excellent. Both of us had the filet, and they were superb! Tender, flavorful and cooked perfectly. We ordered a peppercorn sauce, but soon discovered that the steak did not require any condiment to enhance the flavor. Great experience from beginning to end!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NannokNakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“10 Plus”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We celebrated my husbands 74th Birthday at Martys Steakhouse for lunch and it was outstanding. The soup of the day was Roasted Pepper.....delicious. Hot baked fresh bread was a perfect compliment. Than came our salads, potatoes and sirlion steak.....cooked just the way we liked it. We finished off the meal with their famous BREAD PUDDING.....with the staff singing "Happy Birthday" and everyone else in the restuarant joined in. This is great customers. If your mouth is watering for a perfect steak dinner you must go to MARTYS STEAKHOUSE in Taos, NM.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank taosgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful fine dining!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I recommend the lobster bisque, porterhouse, and prime rib. Wild boar is unique but w/small portion... Service by hostess and servers is very attentive and friendly. Building is classic buildout of blacksmith shop with very high ceilings for a historic building.
Don't park in round lot nextdoor; it will be hard to get out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I ordered a Porter House Steak. It was the best steak I have ever had! Huge! The shakti mushroom sauce is Awesome!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank virgo_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RikBowman, General Manager at Martyrs Steakhouse, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Yes indeed the shittake mushroom sauce is nearly everyone's favorite! I happy to know you enjoyed our porterhouse! Come back soon and try our other cuts of steak.

R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martyrs Steakhouse also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Martyrs Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing