We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Casa Gallina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Gallina
Ranked #1 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque NM
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place cannot be any better! Richard is an outstanding host, warm and welcoming just like his beautiful property. I have stayed at hotels and Inns all over the world, and this is one of the best experiences I have ever had. This is place is a true New Mexican classic, and I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We rented the casita for a girlfriends getaway - very spacious, full kitchen, beautiful and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simba432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
212
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Casa Gallina really is as lovely and special a place as all the other reviewers have said it is, and Richard is a really wonderful host. Our casita was absolutely charming, and comfortable and beautifully appointed, and it felt like "home" from just about the first minute we arrived. From the lovely bottle of wine and antipasti waiting for us when we arrived, to Richard's restaurant recommendations (all of which were great), to the homemade cupcakes awaiting us late one afternoon, it felt more like we were guests in a friend's home than that we were paying customers. I kidded Richard that he has a "cult following," and now I know why, and count me among them. We loved Taos as much as we loved Casa Gallina, and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: My guess is that there isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Casa Gallina is the most fantastic place I have stayed at in Taos. We rented the three bedroom casita and it was wonderful. The beds were cozy and comfortable and the courtyard was stunning!
Richard is an excellent host and entertaining as well. The chickens are a hoot, the highlight of our day was feeding them! It's a little off the beaten path but an easy drive into town and area attractions. You can feel the care and love Richard puts into the inn. The only thing I was disappointed in was that breakfast was not included, since it is listed as a B and B. But Richard does bring you fresh eggs everyday, you just have to drag yourself out of that cozy bed and cook them!!

Room Tip: The three bedroom casita, it's not that much more and the courtyard makes it worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Casa Gallina was the last stop on our trip through New Mexico and it was the perfect ending to our already amazing trip. The Barred Rock Adobe casita was just the right size for our family of four. The vibrant colors, textures and aromas immediately made us feel welcome and at home. We all found Casa Gallina to be magical and enchanting but our children, ages 7 and 10, had endless fun on the property. The beautiful gardens, the little stream and especially the chickens were so wonderful, the kids played outside at every opportunity -- we could have never ventured further and they would have been happy. They looked forward to waking up in the morning to see the chickens and help collect eggs. I think what is so special about Casa Gallina is that Richard has thought through every detail and possible need of his guests, that you start to feel as if you are really "home." I can't imagine what our experience of Taos would have been had we not stayed at Casa Gallina. We hope to return someday for another visit. Thanks To Richard, Shawn and Nate for everything.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
450 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in the Bantam Roost for two nights during our recent trip to Taos. Richard was a gracious host, welcomed us "home", and helped us to find wonderful restaurants in Taos such as Love Apple and Orlando's. He referred us to Cid's for our breakfast supplies, and we were right at home there as well. Feeding the "girls" in the morning was a real treat. They all clucked peacefully and helped us relax. Richard provided some treats to welcome us, made sure we were well supplied with fresh and delicious eggs, but otherwise was not in the way at all. We built a fire both nights to help keep the casita warm, and turned on the heater to take the edge off the cool temperatures. The stairs to the bedroom are somewhat steep, so it may not be for everyone, but we were fine with it. The décor is beautiful, with many whimsical touches that emphasized the "gallina" theme. There is a deck with a hammock, and a gazebo with a hammock on ground level.
It is located a few miles outside town, so you will need to drive to restaurants or tourist sites. It's not easy to find the first few times, as the "Callejon" street sign is more visible if you approach from the east than from the west.
We've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs in many locations, but this is undoubtedly one of our favorite places. It's just a shame that we only planned two nights at this special place. Now we know, and will plan better next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have stayed at Casa Gallina once before and just had to return to enjoy the peace and quiet of this place. Richard is the best host we have ever experienced. He provides snacks, wine, fresh eggs, advice on where to eat and shop, maps of the city and most of all he reflects the fine friendly sprit that comes with being in TAOS. He allowed us to pick fresh veggies from his garden and allowed us to visit his chickens/girls as much as we wanted. Next year, we will upgrade to the 2 bedroom just to have a little extra room. The decor and the cleanliness of this place is just what we needed. We were given a great tour of his newly opened studio and heard about the success of the tango dances that are being hosted there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazosparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I truly can't recall how many times we have stayed with Richard at Casa Gallina, it is at least our 6th time, perhaps more. We had a brand new experience this time in the "Studio" which is newly opened. The photos of the studio don't do it justice it is truly a spectacular space. Richard has once again outdone himself. From humble beginngs as a two car garage to the beautiful space now contained in the walls it truly is a special place filled with great energy. The kitchen and bath are extremely functional. The space feels large enough that you never feel crowed even though all of the activities are within the same room. This lovely light filled space is simply great.

We still are attracted to the charm of the Bantom Roost which we consider our home away from home but it was booked for this stay. As I have stated in previous reviews I truly hestitate to give Casa Gallina such rave reviews. We met a charming couple from Chicago who found Casa Gallina through Trip Advisor. They said they would be back as well for another visit which is great for Richard and terrible for me! As usual Richard brought us goodies each day, the girls provided eggs and the garden was full of items guests were free to use in creative dinner creations. The grounds as always were spectacular and led to relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.2 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
521 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gallina

Property: Casa Gallina
Address: 613 Callejon Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Gallina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town in a quiet, pastoral setting, Casa Gallina's three gorgeous adobe casitas offer an oasis of home for visitors exploring the Taos area. Spacious, charming and just a five minute drive to historic Taos Plaza, each casita is decorated and appointed with furniture, art, antiques, and textiles from New Mexico, Old Mexico and the world over. Casa Gallina feels truly like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gallina Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing