We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable Food”

Antonio's TheTaste of Mexico
Ranked #8 of 131 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An Eclectic Taste Of Mexico. Chef Antonio covers all the bases, deliciously. Everything on the menu is prepared fresh and made to order and the majority of the menu can be prepared gluten free. Because of the flavorful, full-bodied sauces, you will be pleasantly full at the end of your meal accompanied with a fun Margarita like a Jalapeno, Watermelon Margarita. Nothing else like Antonio's Restaurant in beautiful Taos, New Mexico.
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The food was alright. We were expecting better because of the ratings that it had received. The service was kind of slow, but at least the food was hot when it was served.

Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's TheTaste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear "Acceptable Food"
During the holiday season all our staff is working very hard to deliver on days that in any other professions would be spent with family and friends. We must have dropped the ball in letting you know that the wait time may be a bit longer than usual due to the full house and many patrons who enjoy our food and service.I am glad your food was hot.We pride ourselves in delivering the plates as soon as they hit the window.I am curious to know what plate you had because we do have tradional plates that are good but different and feastive would be house specialties .One of our more popular dishes in the chile relleno en nogada which is the perfect combination between sweet and savory.I am certain that if you come back to try our signature dish you will not be dissappointed.Your feed back allows us to improve and today our focus was allowing customers to be aware of a possible wait due to volume. Thank you for your time and we hope to see you again.

Benina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

We ate twice at Antonio's and we were never disappointed.Great Mexican food.It's the real thing..Loved it.I highly recommend to go to Antonio's.The tortilla and the bean soup are excelente.My husband had the chile relleno and he thought it was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leire72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's TheTaste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear, "The real thing"
We enjoyed having you over before our Christmas rush.It speaks volumes when you enjoy our food two days in a row.I recall speaking with you two and finding out that you grew up near the same town in Mexico as Antonio.Antonio was pleased to see such a great review. When a person who is born and raised in Mexico is able ot say its the real deal we know we are doing something right.We look forward to serving you again.We hope you had a safe trip home.
Benina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I went to Antonio's recently on a trip to Taos. We were not disappointed in our choice! We started off the meal with some tableware guacamole, which was pretty good. I had the Chili Relleno English Nogada, which was absolutely amazing. I especially loved the pomegranate rails that were sprinkled around, it was so full of flavor! My husband had the Cochinita Pibil, which was equally delicious. The atmosphere was wonderful with a little fireplace and soft lighting, and the service was excellent. Highly recommend.

Thank jlinds86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's TheTaste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear "Absolutely Delicious Food!"

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the visit you had.One of my favorite dishes is the cochinta pibil .It is marinated for over 5 hours and is so amazing.The meat falls apart in your mouth.The fire place is a great place to sit during a cozy dinner.Nogada, I mean its the perfect combination between sweet and savory.We look forward to having you back to our beautiful hidden gem.
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience.
Benina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, frijilitos was awesome. Had chimichanga mango desert with vanilla icecream, as crazy as it sounds, it was very good. Customer service was top notch. They prepare their own sauses and salsa etc. For the quality of food its very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelwise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's TheTaste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear, "Best Mexican Restauarant."
We are so happy to hear that you rated us YOUR best mexican restauarant.You two were the couple who sat by the fire place and were headed to the ledoux street lighting.Yes the Chimi is one of my favorite desserts too.We will be saving a seat for your return.
We greatly appreciate your review.
Benina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

---if you eat the signature dish, a stuffed poblano pepper, you'd have to rate this place as 5 stars. A pleasant seat by the fire, nice wait staff, and a terrific dish for a reasonable price. I remember once long ago trying a different menu selection but it's been the same one ever after.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SamuelAddoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's TheTaste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear "Come on Now"
We are so excited to hear that yet another patron Loves our Signature dish!Antonio takes great pride in his work of art, our Chile Relleno En Nogada.You have to try a different plate next because all our dishes are exquisite.We are happy to hear that your service was friendly. We strive to please all our customers and look foward to having you back to warm up near our beautiful fire place.We will always have a space open for patrons such as yourself.

Benina Quintana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antonio's TheTaste of Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Antonio's TheTaste of Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing