We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a taste of Mexico”

Antonio's The Taste of Mexico
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An Eclectic Taste Of Mexico. Chef Antonio covers all the bases, deliciously. Everything on the menu is prepared fresh and made to order and the majority of the menu can be prepared gluten free. Because of the flavorful, full-bodied sauces, you will be pleasantly full at the end of your meal accompanied with a fun Margarita like a Jalapeno, Watermelon Margarita. Nothing else like Antonio's Restaurant in beautiful Taos, New Mexico.
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great spot.Good music with Jobuk.Johnson. Chile Rellenos spectacular.Very pleasant outside,but I would guess a bit chilly in the Fall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Montelovesco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We did not have reservations on a busy night. We were seated pretty fast and our order was also taken quickly. It took very long to get our food, and many apologies were given. The food was really good; but we were starving by the time we got it.

Thank DallasGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's The Taste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear,"We did not have reservations on a busy night."
We are truly sorry to hear that your food took longer than anticipaited. Servers tend to get the Poor service staple for something completely out of their control. If your server had a full section and had larger parties prior to your table and we fit you in, we droppped the ball on not explaining to you that the wait me may be longer than usual due to having one amazing chef who pays attention to detail on every plate and makes sure each plate comes out hot and designed with color and flavor for our patrons. Most restaurants at the time you came are reservation only.We understand that some vistors may not have time to make reservations so we do our best to accommodate as much as possible. I hope you come back to visit us and enjoy our feastive food.I am sure you will enjoy it and if possible ask for me, Benina and I will see to it that you have a better experience.
Benina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had made a reservation at Antonio's prior to our trip, based on reviews and on the menu posted on the restaurant's website. While we were looking forward to a good meal, Antonio's exceeded our expectations. The Chile Rellenos en Nogada were amazingly delicious, as was the tortilla soup. The prickly pear margarita was absolutely the best I've ever had. We didn't have the guacamole, but the complementary chips and salsa were very good. With snow on the ground, the patio wasn't open - but we found the cozy dining room to be extremely pleasant. The waitstaff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's The Taste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear "Excellent Dinner "
We want to first off say how excited we are to be starting our new year off with such a honoring review. The prickly pear margaritas are delicious and the Nogada is amazing and has such a perfect blend of ingredients.The dining room is cozy and we thrilled that you enjoyed it. Next time you find yourself in town we hope to see you again. Have a blessed new year and thank you for noticing everything from our food to our staff. Reviews such as this make us so proud to be serving the most traditional and real Mexican cuisine.
Benina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The restaurant has a great little setting. Unfortunately, the service is lacking though it is a very difficult setup from a waitstaff point of view. (They need to hire restaurant pros... Which seem to be abundant around taos-- Dallas should be so lucky). Their signature dish, rellenos abogados was not up to its usual par. We didn't have their table-made guacamole this time around, but do try it. It's usually awesome. The margaritas were excellent and I actually had to stop midway through my second one so I would be able to drive ;-(. It is a must while in Taos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's The Taste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear "Not as good as it should be... But..."
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your margarita and recommend us. We are very proud of our 300 year plus historical building.The building is what allures the majority of our guest as well as the dynamic food. I am sure the best architect would not take away from the set up that adds culture and a sense of old history.I agree the bar area is somewhat crowded when we have a wait and that is why we encourage reservations. Most patrons do not mind the wait considering the full experience once sat. We do have our difficulties as servers during winter times in which we are not able to use our beautiful patio and terrace.Most people come to Antonio's because of the unique and old fashioned set up with thick walls, a long hallway like dining room, and fire place that keeps it quit warm. We would encourage you to make a reservation and I will see to it that you have a better experience next time.Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.
Respectfully,
Benina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The food was alright. We were expecting better because of the ratings that it had received. The service was kind of slow, but at least the food was hot when it was served.

Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benina R, General Manager at Antonio's The Taste of Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear "Acceptable Food"
During the holiday season all our staff is working very hard to deliver on days that in any other professions would be spent with family and friends. We must have dropped the ball in letting you know that the wait time may be a bit longer than usual due to the full house and many patrons who enjoy our food and service.I am glad your food was hot.We pride ourselves in delivering the plates as soon as they hit the window.I am curious to know what plate you had because we do have tradional plates that are good but different and feastive would be house specialties .One of our more popular dishes in the chile relleno en nogada which is the perfect combination between sweet and savory.I am certain that if you come back to try our signature dish you will not be dissappointed.Your feed back allows us to improve and today our focus was allowing customers to be aware of a possible wait due to volume. Thank you for your time and we hope to see you again.

Benina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antonio's The Taste of Mexico also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Antonio's The Taste of Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing