We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend some evening time”
Review of Adobe Bar

Adobe Bar
Ranked #28 of 128 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: The Adobe Bar truly is "the living room of Taos." We offer locally-sourced, casual dining, hand-made deserts, hand-squeezed margaritas and free live entertainment nightly. The Adobe Bar, located inside the Historic Taos Inn is the place to meet and greet friends and family.
Clyde, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to spend some evening time”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We were looking for the "best margaritas" and found not only great margaritas but a lively interesting crowd; great service; beautiful comfortable surroundings; outstanding happy hour nachoes; and a live bluegrass singer adding to the already great ambiance.

Helpful?
Thank Ppoupore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    46
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Just Right!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We ski at Taos Ski Valley every spring break and after skiing usually take in the sites and do a little shopping. My wife and I stopped in for a margarita and snacks. After a couple of margaritas and one small nachos...no need for dinner. Wow! Drinks are fresh and attention to even the easiest to make item on the menu were appreciated. Lots of selections on the menu in the bar. Stop in for a drink, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food - Good entertainment”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Adobe Bar is attached to Doc Martins and the historic Taos Inn and you can essentially get the same food - it's just the atmosphere is more Southwestern cantina - less romantic. We weren't looking for romantic this particular evening, but we were surpised. I ordered a bison burger, vegetarian green chili soup, and sweet potato fries to share. My husband ordered a pumpkin seed crusted chili relleno. Yumm. Very delicious and the service was great. The best part was the band, which played a combination of Spanish guitar a little bit of Southwestern, more country like music. There is a fountain in the lobby where the band played and to sit there with a glass of wine in front of a fountain and listen to this kind of music truly reminded us that we were on vacation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jojothepogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
119 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best margaritas in New Mexico”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This place is a Taos institution. An incredible choice of excellent margaritas. Live music every day. Great people watching place too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mragan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No Cover Charge for Top Entertainment”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I'm not really reviewing the food, but mostly New Mexican menu selections come from the adjoining Doc Martin restaurant in the historic Taos Inn. This place is rightly called the "living room" of Taos. There is so much talent in the area, and most of it gets around to appearing here in a schedule that goes year round. Some nights it's a band, others are solo; blues, country, guitar, vocalists. And the margaritas are top notch. In the summer the happy hour is perfect on the patio. Entertainment is usually 6:30-9:30, or thereabouts. You haven't really been to Taos until you've been here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adobe Bar also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Adobe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing