We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one beer on tap”
Review of Taos Ale House

Taos Ale House
Ranked #1 of 9 Nightlife in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Only one beer on tap”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We discovered this place as it was across the street from our hotel and it was raining so we didn't want to walk to the plaza. We were disappointed to learn that only one beer was on tap. What's up with that at an ale house? We ordered the blue burger with Granny Smith chutney to share between us. When the server brought it, I explained we wanted to split it and asked for another plate and a knife. She looked at me for several seconds like I was making an outlandish request and walked off. She did wander back with an extra paper-lined basket and a plastic knife. I must have ruined her whole night! You order the food at the counter so there seems to be a disconnect between ordering and service. The burger and fries were delicious, by the way so the kitchen has their act together.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
261 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Casual, Fun Evening”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stopped in to see live music. They had been doing some remodeling and the smell of the wood shavings was enjoyable! We had the wheat and red ale. Both were excellent! We enjoyed a low-key relaxing evening. Fireplace is awesome and the service friendly. Cover charge was very reasonable. We appreciated the fact they are looking after budding artists! Don't expect fancy- expect great beer and a laid-back atmosphere!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good beer, fireplace awesome”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was near our hotel and was just what the doctor ordered after a day in the snow. Many beers on tap, sports on TV, and a great fireplace to warm you up. They are in the process of adding food so it should improve as far as a family place. The only improvement would be to the selections of beers. Lots of IPA's. Would have enjoyed a red or brown but I still enjoyed my time there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chimayo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another Addition to theTaos Craft Breweries”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We visited 3 Taos breweries during our daytrip to Taos. We found the beers here to be good and the service friendly. The decor (or lack there of) makes the place feel a little unfinished but if you are going strictly for the beer, you won't be disappointed. Of the 3 breweries that we visited, I would put the Taos Ale House in the middle of the 3. The location is fairly close to the historic plaza, so the location is pretty good as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnchantedNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taos Ale House also viewed

Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Taos Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing