We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Taos!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Mason, Mi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Taos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We've been staying at the Burch Street Casitas every year for four years now & there's no better place to stay in Taos (and, believe me, we've stayed at famous places like the Taos Inn as well)! Rates are reasonable. Each casita is slightly different but all have a full kitchen, washer/dryer, fireplace, porch & are quite lovely as well as spotlessly clean. The casitas are on a quiet street in an old Taos neighborhood within walking distance of the historic plaza. There's plenty of privacy, though, and sometimes we just loll on the porch all day before heading into town for dinner at night. The owners -- Jim & Nancy are the perfect hosts -- friendly, knowledgeable, and just great folks. We love it here!

Room Tip: All of the casitas are quite lovely -- you really can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malea-n-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you guy's. Always so nice to have you!
See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
104
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in Casita D of the Burch Street Casitas the week of Memorial Day, 2012. The location and hospitality were perfect. Jim and Nancy were perfect hosts, never intruding and always available to answer a question or direct us to a new experience. Nancy suggested that we open the windows at night and close them during the day. The casita cooled down over night and stayed very comfortable during the day. The kitchen was perfect for cooking small meals or warming leftovers from the night before. I enjoyed reading and meditation every morning on our private patio.

Room Tip: Cannot imagine a bad casita. We stayed in the one on the South end. Very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We love travelling, we love exploring, we love having fun BUT most of all we LOVE doing our own "thing" and here at Burch St. Casitas - you get to do it all! Jim and Nancy know what we all want - privacy- yet they are available if you need ANYTHING. I am so pleased with our choice. We even came a night earlier than anticipated, and will definitely return - as friends. It was so relaxing to be able to sit out on the patio and enjoy the afternoon sun or evening coolness. Having all the amenities of home within walking distance of everything you need was great. Once we parked our car, we didn't have to think about it again until we left.
Thank you so much Jim and Nancy - and you know what I mean - who else could I leave my wedding ring with to get 'looked after'? Now, that's trust!
I love your "Life Philosophy" and the fact that you love what you do!
Don't ever change!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debdoestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Burch Street Casitas was, for my daughter and me, nothing less than perfect. After reading the website and looking at the photos numerous times, I never regretted my choice of Casita C for our 10 day stay in Taos in May 2012. The beautiful lacy evergreen tree filtered the sunlight into the kitchen window each morning; the afternoons were often quiet times on the warm back patio. Many times my daughter remarked how nice it was NOT to have to cross a lobby to get to our "room". Such a large space, yet warm and cozy even though the night temps were in the 40's. We enjoyed especially the convenience if cooking our own food; and the gigantic (to us) bed was big enough for us both without ever disturbing the other. So private and serene to come back to after walking our feet off in town. It became for both of us a real casita of our own, so that it seemed a bit strange to have to leave it. My daughter lives in Europe, and as we finally parted, she said to me: "Next time, in Taos!". Indeed. Next time, at Burch Street!

Livia J Armstrong
Largo, FL

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiviaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonners Ferry, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Coming into Taos for two weeks of schooling, I needed a place that was quiet, private,close to everything, and outfitted in order to study, work, cook, and to be able to sleep without traffic noise or people noise. The Burch Street Casitas more than met my needs. Jim and Nancy were wonderful; One would think I was out in the country rather than walking distance to the old square and shops. Will be returning in the fall. Highly recommend this little paradise. .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfnorthidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you so much for you business and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 short nights at the Burch Street Casitas and hated to leave. What a delight. Everything you could ask for was there, even shampoo and conditioner since I left mine at the previous hotel. We loved getting up in the morning to drink coffee on our own little patio and home at night with great take out dinner from Cids. A few blocks from the plaza, but enough to be quiet and green....so many trees in that neighborhood. The owner made sure we had everything we needed and was able to answer all our tourist questions. I hope I have another opportunity to return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crboisvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you so much for your business and kind words. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I'm on the road 250+ nights per year and believe me, hotels get old...people slam doors at all hours of the day and night and, other than breakfast, most meals have to be eaten at a restaurant. So, I was extremely pleased to have found Burch Street Casitas while on assignment near Taos recently. What a great place! Jim even drove me to work one morning when a surprise snowstorm dropped limbs and wires across the driveway - now that's going above and beyond! It was such a pleasure to have a quiet, roomy home away from home, complete with laundry and full kitchen! I highly recommend the casitas if you are going to be visiting the Taos area! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for Casita D
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Worldmark by Wyndham Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown

Property: Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown
Address: 310 Burch Street, Taos, NM 87571-5436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burch Street Casitas is a beautiful five star destination. You will find authentic Southwestern style with the modern conveniences that you have come to expect, in all of our casitas. Centrally located in the heart of Taos, we are barely a mile away from Carson Nation Forest, close to downtown if you are looking for art classes and a short walk away from the Historic Plaza. Taos is also a hot spot of art, museums and southwestern cuisine, which are just a short distance away. We are also happy to help you plan outdoor adventures like rock climbing, skiing, rafting, and hot air ballooning or relax with a trip to the spa or a round of golf. Many people have not considered a casita when looking for a place to stay or a vacation rental in Taos; however, it is the perfect alternative to any hotel, inn, or bed and breakfast. Our casitas will offer you privacy, in a rejuvenating and mentally stimulating atmosphere. Enjoy the king size bed in every casita along with a wood burning fireplace and beautiful southwestern art, which are the makings of the perfect romantic get a way. You will not be disappointed when you choose Burch Street Casitas for your vacation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Taos
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing