We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burch Street Casitas and ski”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was my second trip to the casitas and was as impressed this trip as before. The owners go out of their way to assist in any manner and the location is great for wals to the Plaza and local restaurants. Casitas are immaculate and furnishings are excellent. short 20 minutes to Taos ski valley. Heated floor tiles are very comfortable.

M. Gilbert

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your business and kind words. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stay here every trip I make to Taos and have never had less than an excellent stay. That said, they did improve the Casitas with upgraded wifi, new paint and a new bed and futon mattress. Other little updates too numerous to mention made this trip like starting over in a brand new place that still felt like home. Nothing like a nice fire in the evening to cap another fun day in Taos. Given the town's new parking rules, the short walk to the square is even more appreciated.

Book yourself a Casita and come home to Taos rather than just be another tourista.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your continued support and thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I like reading reviews for places I've stayed. It's always great to read the favorable and the unfavorable. Each one of them is a reflection of the person writing them. The favorable are really happy to have found a place that they look forward to returning. The unfavorable seem to seek problems because that's the way they live their lives. The best part is that they will never have to come back and they will continue their journey grumbling. It's always great to read the one's for the Burch Street Casitas.

For the past several years I've stayed for more than week at time. It is the cleanest, safest, quietest, and most comfortable place I've stayed in Taos or Santa Fe. It is close to everything that I care to do in town.

Jim and Nancy are wonderful hosts and will do whatever it takes to make everyone’s visit near perfect. If you've never stayed at their casitas give it a try when your in the neighborhood but be sure to call far enough ahead to make your reservation.

Room Tip: Casita D is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words and continued business!
We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Don't expect the owners to honor the clearly stated, on their web site free firewood supplied. Seems there is a " season" for them to supply firewood. Even though they were burning wood in their fireplace when it was snowing in November and the Temp low overnight dropped to 16 degrees.
Maybe their season starts around Christmas we don't know. Clean was what all reviews on Trip Advisor raved about but be aware those who may have allergies or cannot tolerate dust bunnys "UNDER THE BED" find another place to stay or attempt to get the owners to at least clean under the bed maybe say once a year, at least. But based on our experience I have to say " good luck with THAT!!!!!"

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

There is a season for complimentary firewood. The Taos Fire Department encourages us not to put out free firewood for the public until all of our leaves are picked up. We average about 150 + bags each year and we just started the bagging process upon your arrival. Because of the weather we didn't request that you not burn. I am very sorry that you resented having to purchase your own wood. You did receive a generous discount for your stay that should have more than made up that expense.
Regarding the dust bunnies. In my 20 + years of inspecting rooms I can tell you that you can always find a dust bunny if you really want to. I am confused because I have never had a guest leave one of our Casitas in such poor condition. There was a sweet sticky substance ground into the kitchen floor area. The fire place ashes were shoveled on our living room floor. Used Q tips littered the bathroom.General debris throughout and dirty dishes left in the sink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews, we decided this was the place to stay during our visit to Taos in August.

The owners were very accommodating and gracious. Because we arrived later than expected, Nancy called our cell phone, concerned that we might have gotten lost.

We were in Casita C. It was a cute little casita, with a nice covered patio off the back. There is no air conditioning, but it really was not needed - daytime temps in the 80's and nights in the upper 50's kept the place just right. Well equipped with kitchen supplies that allowed us to make simple breakfasts and even a dinner one night.

Many of the reviews talk about the cleanliness. While I can't say the casita was dirty, it seemed like it just needed an overall total cleaning and attention. Based on the reviews we were expecting a little more, but even so, we still enjoyed our stay.

The parking area is very large so there is plenty of space between cars.

Overall, it was a nice place with friendly hosts.

Room Tip: There are 4 casitas, but we only saw our own, casita "C". Because "A" and "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoleCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!
We appreciate your kind words. As for as deep cleans are concerned we are on top of it.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you the next time you are in the Taos area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

You absolutely can't go wrong staying at Burch Street Casitas! We felt as if we were staying with friends in their guest casita! The casita is delightful and beautifully decorated in the Taos manner with radiant-heated Saltillo tile floors, a wonderful wood burning kiva, fabulous comfortable bed, and very user-friendly kitchenette. The 4 casitas are located (along with the owners' delightful adobe home ) on a scenic little Taos street a short walk from the Plaza. Jim and Nancy were warm and very accommodating and full of useful Taos information. This is a true gem and
"the only" place to consider staying for your Taos visit!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneshottwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write those king words!
Most of all thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This group of 4 casitas is conveniently located within easy walking distance of the plaza. It is cozy and safe especially for this woman traveling alone. Nice and clean and beautiful southwest feel but not over the top. Loved it! Plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.1 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,213 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown

Address: 310 Burch St, Taos, NM 87571-5436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Price Range: £84 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burch Street Casitas is a beautiful five star destination. You will find authentic Southwestern style with the modern conveniences that you have come to expect, in all of our casitas. Centrally located in the heart of Taos, we are barely a mile away from Carson Nation Forest, close to downtown if you are looking for art classes and a short walk away from the Historic Plaza. Taos is also a hot spot of art, museums and southwestern cuisine, which are just a short distance away. We are also happy to help you plan outdoor adventures like rock climbing, skiing, rafting, and hot air ballooning or relax with a trip to the spa or a round of golf. Many people have not considered a casita when looking for a place to stay or a vacation rental in Taos; however, it is the perfect alternative to any hotel, inn, or bed and breakfast. Our casitas will offer you privacy, in a rejuvenating and mentally stimulating atmosphere. Enjoy the king size bed in every casita along with a wood burning fireplace and beautiful southwestern art, which are the makings of the perfect romantic get a way. You will not be disappointed when you choose Burch Street Casitas for your vacation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Taos
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing