We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was attending a week-long writing workshop and so I was seeking more space than your average hotel room, plus peace and quiet. I found that—and so much more—at Burch Street Casitas. For a very reasonable price I was the lucky resident of a large efficiency apartment, complete with patio, fireplace, kitchen, and washer/dryer. Nicely decorated (no over-the-top Southwestern decor), thoughtfully outfitted kitchen, comfortable bed, plus a shady, quiet street just minutes from the plaza and downtown. And the icing on the cake: very nice and accommodating owners.

Room Tip: There are just four casitas. I stayed in Casita B, which had a particularly nice layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lambeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Burch Street Casitas was a wonderful two night getaway for us to visit Taos Pueblo and museums. Four little houses are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Kitchen was well stocked and there was even a washer and dryer in the kitchen. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lezette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you. It was nice meeting you!
We happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My hubby and I came down for a long weekend: my first trip to New Mexico! What a perfect pick in a wonderful little town. The casita was spotless and charming, and stocked with everything we could possibly need- what a find! Enjoyed some day trips, walks into town for terrific food, and back to the casita to relax in the shade and quiet of our own private patio- just could not ask for more. Birch Street itself is among the most scenic of spots, and the Casitas just made for an absolutely perfect experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you! Thank you! thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a wonderful place to find! We enjoyed our stay, so comfy and clean, absolutely excellent! We will be back! Thank you!!

Full kitchen, even though we didn't cook at home, it was nice to have a refrigerator, also, washer and dryer too!

Room Tip: there are only four casitas, you cannot go wrong! Plenty of privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TipiAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words and for your business.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from spending the first five nights of June at Burch Street Casitas. This was our first time in Taos, and it turned out to be exactly what we needed and wanted. We had made the choice based on all the earlier excellent Trip Advisor reviews. They were everything we hoped for, and then some--affording us independent living essentially right in the center of Taos. The casitas themselves are on a pleasant and shady residential street that is less than a ten minute walk to the center of town--very private, quiet--but you walk up around the little bend past the church on the corner, and as you turn left onto Kit Carson Street and go up the small hill toward town it seems like you emerge into almost a different world of sunlight and mountains. And then, in just a couple of minutes, town. You're immediately at the Kit Carson home, the cemetery a block north where he is buried, and right in front of you the Plaza, with its myriad of galleries, restaurants, shops, etc. Jim & Nancy were very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do in Taos and the surrounding area, from hiking to restaurants to Ojo Caliente to basic things like where to find the nearest supermarket. They're down-to-earth, gracious people, and that is part of what made the experience so comfortable.

The casitas--a sort of "mini-home"--were very clean, with everything needed for independent functioning and living--from full kitchen and bath to washer/dryer, king-sized bed, Southwestern style fireplace and decor, maps, and even a mini-library of sorts. My wife and I are avid hikers and lately have been coming to appreciate the pleasures of more condominium-like arrangements on our vacations. They seem to give some added flexibility about coming and going as compared to a hotel, and afford the option of making meals at home, going out to eat, etc. These were perfect, relaxing, quiet, and yet walking distance to so many of the town's attractions. I would unhesitatingly recommend staying here to any friend or family member, and we will definitely come back here the next time we're in Taos. BTW, we REALLY liked
Taos, too--the people were great everywhere we went.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

WOW! You make us love what we do even more!
Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I loved staying in the beautiful, comfortable and clean casita - it felt like home. I did without a car, as it's a quick walk to the Plaza, and you can stop along the way for a Pistachio ice cream at Caffe Tazza on Kit Carson drive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for coming all the way from England to stay with us!
We are happy that you enjoyed Taos!
Safe happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Burch Street Casitas are a must place to stay if you desire quiet, comfort and space not usually found in a typical hotel room. The casitas sleep beneath large trees set to the back of the property. Since we were on an extended vacation we loved having the washer and dryer in our casita as well as the ability to occasionally cook a meal. Taos is rich in story, arts, galleries and food. One of the best ways to experience it is to read, as I did at Jim the owner's suggestion, "Blood and Thunder" by Hampton Sides. Kit Carson is the centerpiece of the book, so be sure to visit the museum bearing his name. We will be back to Taos and to the casitas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug_Holck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.2 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.7 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Taos
1,292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Worldmark Taos
Worldmark Taos
#2 of 15 in Taos
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown

Address: 310 Burch St, Taos, NM 87571-5436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taos
Price Range: £71 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burch Street Casitas is a beautiful five star destination. You will find authentic Southwestern style with the modern conveniences that you have come to expect, in all of our casitas. Centrally located in the heart of Taos, we are barely a mile away from Carson Nation Forest, close to downtown if you are looking for art classes and a short walk away from the Historic Plaza. Taos is also a hot spot of art, museums and southwestern cuisine, which are just a short distance away. We are also happy to help you plan outdoor adventures like rock climbing, skiing, rafting, and hot air ballooning or relax with a trip to the spa or a round of golf. Many people have not considered a casita when looking for a place to stay or a vacation rental in Taos; however, it is the perfect alternative to any hotel, inn, or bed and breakfast. Our casitas will offer you privacy, in a rejuvenating and mentally stimulating atmosphere. Enjoy the king size bed in every casita along with a wood burning fireplace and beautiful southwestern art, which are the makings of the perfect romantic get a way. You will not be disappointed when you choose Burch Street Casitas for your vacation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Taos
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Downtown Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing