We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great selection, great store”
Review of Twirl

Twirl
Ranked #1 of 58 Shopping in Taos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A play and discovery space with a free outdoor playground featuring climbing installations, water and sand play areas, hobbit treehouse, ride-ons, a community playroom offering free classes, activities, events and interactive installations, and a gift shop selling educational toys and games.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff, great selection, great store”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had such a great time! And the workers were incredibly helpful and patient with me and my children. If you have anyone under the age of 12, this is a must see/stop!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nasyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs_twirl, Manager at Twirl, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing Twirl, we appreciate it! We're delighted you had such a good time and hope you'll come back next time you're in Taos.

Best regards, The Twirl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    12
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brought back memories...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This toy store reminded me of the amazing toy stores that we had when we were kids, before everything went to mindless, identical chains. There is nothing generic here. You won't find a trace of Barbie, Bratz or Transformers here. And the most amazing thing was that the kids were LOVING it. I heard many kids, from young to older, telling their parents how amazing it was. This store will delight kids and adults of all ages! There is a huge selection of fun/educational/different/unique toys to rouse the senses. Plus, out the back door there is a HUGE play area, complete with bubbles, spinning solar system and climbable playplace. I felt like a kid again browsing all of the unique goods, and was happy that at least a few toystores haven't caved under the mounting pressure of Wal-Mart/Target/Conformist ideals. You will find diggable "fossils" for budding paleontologists butting up next to art supplies and "Mensa Approved" card games. I am so happy that these places still exist and that (not surprisingly) kids are responding positively to them! We gladly supported by buying a card game!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank VahnCairbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs_twirl, Manager at Twirl, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Vahn. Thanks for your awesome review. We're thrilled you had such a great visit and that you recognized our efforts to try and keep independent toy stores alive and thriving! It's people like you who help us do that so thanks for supporting us, for spreading the word and for being a kid at heart just like all of us here. Come back and see us next time you're up in Taos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
458 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“New for kids, Nostalgic for adults”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

They had spirograph! I hadn't seen that is ages. That and the smell of crayons takes me back. What about you? You will find something here to both throw you back in time to your childhood and kick you into the future with something new and interesting. If you haven't seen the Perplexus spherical mazes, for example, try them out! This is a must-see place if you are traveling with children in Taos.They also have a play space in back of the store if you need to rest up while allowing the kids to use up some energy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DB-Raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs_twirl, Manager at Twirl, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dafyd, thank you for writing such an enjoyable review of your visit. We wish you had found us a couple of years ago when we had our History Of Toys Exhibit upstairs, that really would have been a trip down Memory Lane for you! We still have all the toys and will probably do it again one day so come back and visit just in case!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place, staff and overall concept”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went in to placate our 2 youngest Thinking that we would buys few overpriced trinkets and be on our way. Boy were we surprised! The store, while small, has a huge selection of unique toys at reasonable prices but what completely floored us was that it also had a full playground, activity room and sandboxes that were free to use. Soooooo 2 hours later we picked out a few things to buy and I prepared myself for what at first appeared to be a frustrating check out process due to the smallness of the store and the volume of customers. Once again we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were super nice and very competent at keeping all the shoppers in place and ensuring that they were getting what they needed. If we ever go back to Taos this will be a MUST place to stop at

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs_twirl, Manager at Twirl, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello John. Thank you for your lovely review. We're very happy to have provided a nice diversion for you and your family on your trip to Taos! Hopefully we'll have even more surprises in-store and out when you next return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very cool toy store”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

LOVE, LOVE, Love this place!!! Except that I spent too much money there :) My son really wanted a place to play and this was such a neat find!! Love all of the color and things to do and play on. Love the playroom upstairs! Love all of the cool gadgets and toys - stuff you don't see in many toy stores! Will be going back!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mommyparty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs_twirl, Manager at Twirl, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
And we LOVE LOVE your review! Thank you for taking the time to write such a sweet review of Twirl. We're happy you all had fun. Be sure to enroll in our rewards program next time you're here and that way, you can earn when you spend! Happy rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twirl also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Twirl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing