We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of our Weekend”

Wild Earth Llama Adventures
Ranked #1 of 18 Outdoor Activities in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Llama Trekking Adventures in New Mexico's Pristine Wilderness! "Take a Llama to Lunch!" Wilderness Day Hikes Multi-Day Wilderness Adventures Custom Wilderness Events What's Llama Trekking? Llama Trekking is Hiking and Camping with our team of eco-friendly trail llamas, in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains and Rio Grande Gorege, near Taos and Santa Fe, New Mexico. On the trail, our gentle surefooted llamas carry the gear, leaving you unburdened to experience the natural beauty and inspiring solitude of the New Mexico wilderness. Experienced Naturalist Guides share information about local ecology, natural history, regional folklore, and wilderness skills. Backcountry Gourmet Meals are served on all of our New Mexico wilderness trips. All ages and fitness levels are welcome! Call us to answer any questions of to make reservations!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Detroit, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Highlight of our Weekend”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was a great experience and was the highlight of our weekend in Taos. The llamas were extremely well behaved and fun to be around. I miss Diego and K2!! The guide was extremely knowledgeable, kind, and friendly. He made sure everyone was safe. I would say he can adapt the hike portion to all fitness levels. We had a wide range of fitness levels in our group, including me being 4 months pregnant at the time. Everyone had a great time. Lunch was also delicious. I highly recommend this company. Stuart, the owner, is one of the few business owners still around that cares more about the quality of your experience than money. This was our first time in NM and the scenery during the hike was absolutely gorgeous! Truly a memorable experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
“Great Trip”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Beautiful scenary, lots of interesting information from Stuart, great lunch, geared to varying experience levels and capabilities. Highly recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife booked this trip for us and I was a bit dubious -- hiking with llamas, really -- but this was an incredible day. Stuart, who leads the trip, is extremely knowledgable about the geology, plant and animal life and pointed out so many things we would never have noticed without a guide. The llamas (we had Diego and K2) are extremely gentle and obedient and far more sure footed than humans, that add something unique to the experience. Stuart is quite passionate about these animals and is involved in llama conservation efforts as well. This is a special experience that I'm sure we will never forget.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Radlerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“An amazing experience!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our expectations were pretty high because of all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor but we were not disappointed. This is an experience you will treasure and remember forever. Our kids (ages 7 and 10) were enchanted by the llamas and our guide Stuart. Llamas are gentle, curious, and entertaining creatures and walking with them along a beautiful trail and learning all about the history and ecology of the region from Stuart along the way was just incredible. Stuart is an amazing guide and anticipated the needs of every member of our group. He's terrific with children and made everyone feel safe and important. Our kids became very attached to the llamas and can't wait to return to visit them again. This is an unusual, amazing, once in a lifetime experience you shouldn't miss. Cannot imagine a better way to spend an afternoon than trekking with the llamas and Stuart.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank U869VCpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Highlight of NM Holiday”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was a fantastic adventure. All four of us (2 parents, 2 kids, ages 13 and 5) loved the experience and really appreciated learning about the plants and geology and people of the area. The llamas made the trip even more exciting, and the kids really enjoyed leading the animals down and up the trail.

The hike was in the new Rio Grande del Norte park. Led by Stuart, naturalist and guide extraordinaire. He was fantastic -- full of great information and enthusiasm for the beauty of this area. He also prepared a great lunch overlooking the river.

Even when one of us had an unfortunate encounter with a cactus, Stuart was calm and encouraging and knew just what to do to make it all better.

First-rate outing. We can't wait to return for another llama adventure -- maybe an overnight next time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NJFamilyAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Earth Llama Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Wild Earth Llama Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing