We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Brilliant Spanish-style accommo with superb breakfast and superb highly motivated and caring staff. Beautiful large room and retro contents. Very central - Next to Kit Carson museum
Couldn't have been better. Best place visited on my 5 week US tour.

Room Tip: Ask for the large retro room in the white bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very Taos style, relaxed, friendly, quiet, and rustic. Afternoon tea features homemade cakes and cookies as well as tea and lemonade. A wonderful library room filled with local restaurant menus, books, and art work to experience Northern New Mexico atmosphere. Breakfast is large and tastes excellent. Special homemade granola from a secret family recipe. Patio is comfortable and away from the noise of the street. Easy walking distance to the plaza and across the street from the Couse Sharp Foundation (a free tour everyone should take of a founding Taos Art Colony artist's original studio, home, and gardens), as well as easy distance to many other historic sites. Staff is helpful and attentive. Rooms are delightful and unique. Wonderfully different than standard hotels and motels. If you are interested in experiencing Taos style, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at Casa Benavides about 25 years ago and absolutely loved it. I'm afraid nothing has been done to our room -- El Mirador -- no maintenance at all -- since then. It was positively the worst hotel/motel/b&b room I've had in years, and quite expensive as well! The whole room was a dingy beige -- beige walls, beige bed clothes, dirty brown couch (more later). The location is great, the newish lobby/sitting room/dining room are wonderful, the food is great, the people very nice and helpful. But that room is just ghastly! The couch cushions actually smelled -- a familiar smell of old old mildew and wet dog. Way past time for a new couch. The bed was comfortable, but the dinginess of the bed clothes was very unappealing -- old cotton blankets, beige cotton bedspread, nothing Southwestern about it at all -- nor was it anything like the photo on their website. I feel quite misled and abused. I won't stay there again -- I don't dare pick another room and have something like this happen again. Too bad -- great location and public space.

Room Tip: Don't stay in El Mirador. All rooms seem like they'd be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Owners Tom and Barbara are great people and try to make everyone comfortable. Rooms are well maintained, clean, and quiet. The best and biggest breakfasts I have had anywhere. Great afternoon tea if you are around. Walking distance to main square. Staff is very helpful. We look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Awesome little b&b friendly staff great breakfast. Had a couple of issues in room heat was on when arrived and tv remote wasn't working but both were dealt with by the staff. Wifi only in lobby, parking a little away from room. Very quaint and lovely

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank ejdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a great place to stay. Making the reservations was easy and the staff was very helpful to get me the room I needed. The property overall is outstanding, it is very well maintained and you really know you're in Taos. The afternoon tea and desserts is a great idea and we loved it. The breakfast was excellent, it did get crowded though and we had to wait for about 15 minutes so if you get there late be ready for that. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed just one night in June in the Chimayo room. The property itself is lovely. Everything I love about Southwest homes. From the outside to the lovely interiors with the tiles and artwork. I confess though that I was slightly disappointed by our room. I had booked the cheapest room though to try and save some pennies on our road trip, so maybe that is my expectations being too high! The room was accessible via a corridor from the outside veranda. It was small and dark. A view of the neighbours yard. At first the AC didn't work and there was no lightbulb in the closet. The bathroom was tiny with nowhere to put your things so our wash bags went on the floor. We didn't mind too much though as we were only staying one night and it was all about the location.


We were invited to have afternoon tea but we went to explore instead. The plaza is a short walk of about 5 minutes. Many bars and restaurants to choose from and there was live music when we were there- I think this is every Thursday in summer. Worth going to with a great atmosphere.

The breakfast was immense! The dining room where it is held is gorgeous and I want a kitchen like theirs! The ladies serving the breakfast were nice too. We were offered so many things. Home made sticky granola, yoghurt, peaches, muffins, juice, then a cooked breakfast (!). We had the Mexican offering of a large, no huge, slab of a kind of omelette with green chile. Tasty but way too much for breakfast! I could have eaten it for dinner!

Would recommend based on location but not our room. From the website there are many nicer rooms on offer.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,287 reviews
1 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Benavides Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Address: 137 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5949
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £106 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a leisurely stroll of Taos Plaza, Casa Benavides is situated in the heart of Taos. Experience all the enchanted beauty, energy, shopping, Southwest cuisine, and Native culture Taos has to offer. The Casa Benavides Inn has 38 unique rooms, featuring Southwestern furnishings and artwork. A delectable selection of homemade cookies and cakes are included with the complimentary afternoon tea. The scrumptious breakfast has been a favorite of Inn guests for nearly 30 years. Located 2 blocks from Taos Plaza, 3 miles from historic Taos Pueblo, and 20 miles from Taos Ski Valley. Complimentary WI-FI internet access is available in every guest room and throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa Benavides Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Benavides Historic Hotel Taos
Casa Benavides Historic Inn Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing