We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Taos!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
white rock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place in Taos!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our group of 21 stayed for two nights at this great B&B. The rooms were great, (all different configurations), the art work and decor was outstanding, and the food (breakfast) was to die for!! The location of the inn was convenient to the Plaza, and art galleries. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannwhiterock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    62
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
121
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burntisland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Brilliant Spanish-style accommo with superb breakfast and superb highly motivated and caring staff. Beautiful large room and retro contents. Very central - Next to Kit Carson museum
Couldn't have been better. Best place visited on my 5 week US tour.

Room Tip: Ask for the large retro room in the white bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very Taos style, relaxed, friendly, quiet, and rustic. Afternoon tea features homemade cakes and cookies as well as tea and lemonade. A wonderful library room filled with local restaurant menus, books, and art work to experience Northern New Mexico atmosphere. Breakfast is large and tastes excellent. Special homemade granola from a secret family recipe. Patio is comfortable and away from the noise of the street. Easy walking distance to the plaza and across the street from the Couse Sharp Foundation (a free tour everyone should take of a founding Taos Art Colony artist's original studio, home, and gardens), as well as easy distance to many other historic sites. Staff is helpful and attentive. Rooms are delightful and unique. Wonderfully different than standard hotels and motels. If you are interested in experiencing Taos style, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at Casa Benavides about 25 years ago and absolutely loved it. I'm afraid nothing has been done to our room -- El Mirador -- no maintenance at all -- since then. It was positively the worst hotel/motel/b&b room I've had in years, and quite expensive as well! The whole room was a dingy beige -- beige walls, beige bed clothes, dirty brown couch (more later). The location is great, the newish lobby/sitting room/dining room are wonderful, the food is great, the people very nice and helpful. But that room is just ghastly! The couch cushions actually smelled -- a familiar smell of old old mildew and wet dog. Way past time for a new couch. The bed was comfortable, but the dinginess of the bed clothes was very unappealing -- old cotton blankets, beige cotton bedspread, nothing Southwestern about it at all -- nor was it anything like the photo on their website. I feel quite misled and abused. I won't stay there again -- I don't dare pick another room and have something like this happen again. Too bad -- great location and public space.

Room Tip: Don't stay in El Mirador. All rooms seem like they'd be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Owners Tom and Barbara are great people and try to make everyone comfortable. Rooms are well maintained, clean, and quiet. The best and biggest breakfasts I have had anywhere. Great afternoon tea if you are around. Walking distance to main square. Staff is very helpful. We look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Awesome little b&b friendly staff great breakfast. Had a couple of issues in room heat was on when arrived and tv remote wasn't working but both were dealt with by the staff. Wifi only in lobby, parking a little away from room. Very quaint and lovely

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ejdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a great place to stay. Making the reservations was easy and the staff was very helpful to get me the room I needed. The property overall is outstanding, it is very well maintained and you really know you're in Taos. The afternoon tea and desserts is a great idea and we loved it. The breakfast was excellent, it did get crowded though and we had to wait for about 15 minutes so if you get there late be ready for that. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Benavides Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Property: Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Address: 137 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-5949
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a leisurely stroll of Taos Plaza, Casa Benavides is situated in the heart of Taos. Experience all the enchanted beauty, energy, shopping, Southwest cuisine, and Native culture Taos has to offer. The Casa Benavides Inn has 38 unique rooms, featuring Southwestern furnishings and artwork. A delectable selection of homemade cookies and cakes are included with the complimentary afternoon tea. The scrumptious breakfast has been a favorite of Inn guests for nearly 30 years. Located 2 blocks from Taos Plaza, 3 miles from historic Taos Pueblo, and 20 miles from Taos Ski Valley. Complimentary WI-FI internet access is available in every guest room and throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Benavides Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Benavides Historic Hotel Taos
Casa Benavides Historic Inn Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing