We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacio de Marquesa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palacio de Marquesa
Ranked #7 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
“Great Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed here Memorial Day weekend. I loved that all the rooms have their own entrance and are well-sized/appointed, the property is nestled among large trees in a residential neighborhood in walking distance to all the activities in the plaza, the orange French toast for the breakfast included with my stay was awesome, the staff were friendly and made you feel like part of a family, and the property is pet friendly. I look forward to my next visit to see the planned room improvements the new owner will be doing later this year to an already beautiful property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    26
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
130
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a great time. It was perfect weather we were able to explore the property and hang out in the courtyard area it was beautiful. The water fountains throughout add to the relaxing atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised with delicious breakfast in the morning. I would highly recommend Palacio de Marquesa when visit Taos.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We booked here based on friends's recommendation, though dated. On our arrival we found the place to be in a bit of a shamble. We were the only ones staying here and the place was being sold to new owners on the day we were to depart. The fact that spring had yet to appear here was cause for some of the shambled look. However, the outside needed some cleaning and the decorative outdoor lighting needed to be turned on. (We might have been the solo guests but we did pay a high price for the place.) Almost all of the outdoor decorations had been removed.
Rose was delightful and the room had all the amenities we could expect. It was quite, clean and well supplied. Having fresh ground coffee in the room was special for us.
Why the original owner did not fix the shower selection button is beyond me, but we made do.
The breakfast was perfectly balanced and not excessive - this was appreciated.
With new owners taking over on May 1, all prior assessments, including this one, are null and void. I hope the new owners can make good use of this great location and facility. Please repair the hot tub. We would have used it, if it had been working. It appeared that it has been out of order for a long time.

Room Tip: Ask about the hot tub. You may not want to use it but if it has been repaired, it might reflect on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at this wonderful Inn nestled in a very quiet residential neighborhood about a 15 minute walk to the Plaza during our two night stay in Taos. It is a beautiful place; very relaxing and tranquil. We were greeted and welcomed warmly by one of the Inn keepers who checked us in and showed us to our room several steps from the main house. There were some snacks offered in the living room of the main house though no drinks of any kind were available. Given the price of the place we found this amenity lacking. It would have been nice if wine, beer, or sangria was offered or at least some kind of juice. There were many menus available in the living room for us to choose a restaurant in the area. We chose Graham's Grill both nights we were in Taos.

If you walk to the Plaza and the main part of Taos, we suggest you walk straight up Montoya Street to Kit Carson Street. There is not any traffic on this road and it is safer than the other way.

Each breakfast we had was delicious, unique, and plentiful. The hospitality of the Innkeepers each morning was warm, attentive, and inviting. After breakfast, we toured the area including the Taos Pueblo which is an easy 15 minute drive from the Inn. After many hours of sightseeing we were hungry and tired. Instead of going to a restaurant, we decided to go to the local grocery store to buy some cheese, bread, wine, and other snacks and went back to the Inn to enjoy them in the courtyard by the fountain. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable way to end the day of driving and sightseeing. Later, we enjoyed the comforts of the living room as we spent time getting to know another couple who were guests of the Inn.

It was disappointing that the jacuzzi was no longer working and the available sauna was not in a very welcoming place to enter. But overall, given the location, beautiful inn, accommodations, breakfasts, and hospitality of the staff, we would recommend this Inn during your visit to Taos. It is not an inexpensive place to stay but a treat if you can afford it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rio Grande room which is spacious, has a large jacuzzi shower, separate living area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seagull4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We made last minute reservations to Casa de las Chimeneas and were so glad we did. The hospitality of the hosts Diana and Rosie were outstanding. Our room the Library was the best. This suite is part of the original home with all the character of an old southwestern hacienda. It has a living area, seperate bedroom and well appointed very large bathroom with two person jacuzzi, spa shower and seperate toilet area. It also had a private outdoor area with two small wrought iron tables and chairs. All around the grounds were areas to seat and relax. Two tv's and a clock/cd player with a few southwestern cds was provided. We enjoyed a wonderful full homemade breakfast prepared by Rosie. Even got her secret to the black bean recipe! Hint...it's white wine in the onions. We did not partake of the afternoon hor'dourves since we had dinner reservations at Lamberts. Lamberts Restaurant is within a 5 min. walk and was outstanding in every regard. Just be careful walking down the street since there is no sidewalk. Little traffic though. We walked to the plaza in about 15 mins. Again, sidewalks are an issue in Taos. But the walk was pleasant. I would recommend if walking take the Montoya street to Kit Carson instead of the main route. It's residential and takes you right to the plaza area. As for a previous review wondering what is happening with the Casa, well nothing but lack of tourists and rain. I live in NM and like everywhere else, July and August are hot and plants suffer with no rain. The plants were mostly xeric plants with fruit trees around the property and some very large old cottonwoods for shade. The gardens were perking up on our visit this weekend and looking good. The hot tub in question is not working, but 5 of the rooms have their own jacuzzi. Don't listen to the bad review, and plan a visit. You won't be sorry. I definitely plan to return. Pictures are attached.

Room Tip: The Library Suite is part of the main house and has tremendous southwestern character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lksmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This overpriced "inn" is a ghost town and seems like it is about to go out of business. The outdoor hot tub is "out of service" and steam shower in our room did not work. This is not to be expected in a room costing $329.00 per night. The grounds were in shambles and in need of attention. The night that we stayed there we were the ONLY GUESTS......and the absentee owner just happened to stop by (a rarity we were told) but did not make an effort to greet us as we sat in the garden area.....Something is going very wrong at this place.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCM475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed three nights at this inn. We were upgraded to a larger room because of some noise that was coming from next door. We didn't really mind the noise, but the innkeeper noticed and volunteered to move us to another quieter room on the property. The hospitality was outstanding. We were constantly asked if they could do anything for us. We were very satisfied with the garden room and the other room we were moved into. Breakfasts were very good and the evening appetizers were very filling. The location was very convenient to the plaza.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.5 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Marquesa

Property: Palacio de Marquesa
Address: 405 Cordoba, Taos, NM 87571-6571 (Formerly Casa de las Chimeneas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Marquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de Marquesa is 2 1/2 blocks from the historic center of town, Taos Plaza. Built on 7/10 of an acre with a high wall and seventeen large trees around the perimeter, it seems secluded and apart from the bustle of town, yet is close to all the historic sites, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Palacio de Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Chimeneas Hotel Taos
Palacio De Marquesa Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing