We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio de Marquesa
Ranked #7 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Palacio de Marquesa was recently acquired by new owners and they intend to improve it even more - it is already beautiful! Nicely decorated southwestern-style rooms surrounded by a walled garden area, it is very peaceful. The best thing is Chad, the manager, who did all he could to make my short stay memorable. He even arranged for me to get an earlier-than-usual full breakfast which was delicious, especially the organic coffee. Since I had to leave early for a day's work in Taos, I really appreciated that! It is obvious that both Chad and the nice lady making the breakfasts are people-oriented and committed to providing a great customer experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here recently when attending a concert. The location was perfect! A quick walk to the shops and eateries but tucked away enough that you felt like you could be a world away. Chad the manager was extremely helpful. I couldn't recommend this place enough to anyone wanting to mix relaxing with sightseeing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Palacio is so unique that it's difficult to describe. It is not a hotel or a motel. It is not a B&B. It IS this beautiful sprawling hacienda with EXQUISITE rooms, each with its own unique theme and holiday experience. The rooms are very large, yet intimate. Wonderful breakfasts are prepared daily and presented by an extremely friendly staff. In fact, equal to the exquisite rooms are the most pleasant and accommodating staff and management I have experienced anywhere. It was a wonderful vacation experience at the Palacio de Marquesa in Taos.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillyrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here the weekend of June 7th, 2013. Chad, the on-site manager was extremely welcoming and friendly, answering any and all questions we had regarding the area and morning breakfasts. The room, Rio Grande, was very clean and comfortable, only complaint was the mattress wasn't as comfortable as we would have liked. (I was told it was going to be replaced soon.) Breakfast was delicious both mornings and our stay was just what we needed and worth looking forward to. I could certainly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZNativeNMTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We really Enjoyed our stay here at this Unique & Quaint Bed & Breakfast! It was a Wonderful and relaxing experience. The bed was a very comfortable king size bed with a firm mattress that made it very hard to not stay on there all day! Our suite was the "Library" and there were many books and magazines to read and just relax. Each customer had their own personal parking when you arrive and there was also a special cook that served a Fantastic Breakfast the next morning with lots of other customers who when we started talking to each other; made it feel like we were with family even though we came from different states. The coffee was extremely delicious as well as the southwestern breakfast. We went for a leisurely stroll after breakfast and enjoyed the city of Taos. The evenings there are nice and cool, quite and peaceful. We would go back to stay there again. I Highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast in the artsy town of Taos!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have been coming to the Palacio de Marquesa (formerly Casa de las Chimeneas) for about 5 years. It is such a pleasure to see that the gardens are being restored to grand beauty and the grounds are being well attended to! The on-site manager, Chad, is delightful and attentive to the needs of his guests. The rooms are large and airy, have their own individual entrances with screened doors to let you breathe in the aromas of incredible Taos. After a delicious and filling breakfast, it is just a short and scenic wall to the shops, galleries, restaurants and Plaza. We can't wait to return to this charming gem of an inn.

Room Tip: Although the room names will be changing we really like the Library Suite and la Sala de Patron.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaStackO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed here Memorial Day weekend. I loved that all the rooms have their own entrance and are well-sized/appointed, the property is nestled among large trees in a residential neighborhood in walking distance to all the activities in the plaza, the orange French toast for the breakfast included with my stay was awesome, the staff were friendly and made you feel like part of a family, and the property is pet friendly. I look forward to my next visit to see the planned room improvements the new owner will be doing later this year to an already beautiful property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.5 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#3 of 23 in Taos
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on La Loma Plaza
0.8 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Marquesa

Address: 405 Cordoba, Taos, NM 87571-6571 (Formerly Casa de las Chimeneas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £132 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Marquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de Marquesa is 2 1/2 blocks from the historic center of town, Taos Plaza. Built on 7/10 of an acre with a high wall and seventeen large trees around the perimeter, it seems secluded and apart from the bustle of town, yet is close to all the historic sites, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio de Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Chimeneas Hotel Taos
Palacio De Marquesa Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing